Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Review: "Secret" by Brigid Kemmerer


EARTH. FIRE. AIR. WATER. Nick Merrick is stretched to breaking point. He's trying to keep his grades sky-high or he won't get in to college. He's trying to keep his brother's business afloat or the Merricks will be out on the street. He's trying to keep the secret of where he's going in the evenings from his twin brother Gabriel - or he fears he'll lose his family. And he's trying to keep his mind off the hot, self-assured dancer who is his 'girlfriend's' partner. And then Quinn takes to hanging around his sworn enemy, and an Elemental Guide is counting the hours until he can try again to kill the Merrick brothers. Storms are brewing. On all sides. SECRETS IN THE WIND. DANGER IN THE AIR.



Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for allowing me to read and review an ARC of this book.

This whole series is really fantastic!  Don't be fooled by the cover (sorry, but I really don't like it!) - this is the best paranormal YA series I've ever read.  I don't know if this was my favourite book of the bunch, I'd have to go back and read the others to compare, but it might be.  Nick's just such a great character, and I actually really enjoyed Quinn's side of things, too, (although I'm not sure if I like Quinn or not) - the development of Tyler's character was not something I expected.

This next bit could be considered spoiler-ish, so if you haven't read "Secret", you might want to scroll down.

A couple of things I thought could have been done better:
  • the element of danger from the Guide was pretty much absent throughout the book.  There was still tension between Tyler and the Merricks to some degree, but it just wasn't quite enough, and wasn't to the same level as in the previous books.  
  • to me, it seemed like Quinn was a bit quick to believe the whole elemental powers thing.  Then again, by the time Nick told her about it, she'd already had some first hand demonstrations of his power, so maybe it was realistic.  Possibly I just wanted Quinn to be more excited or blown away by the whole thing.  I know I would be!
Other than those two minor issues, everything else was great.  I had a really hard time putting this book aside once I'd started it, and I devoured it in about two days!

My rating: 




Sunday, January 26, 2014

Release Day Launch & Giveaway - "All the Pretty Poses" by M. Leighton


ABOUT ALL THE PRETTY POSES:
He never wanted to be a hero…until she needed him to be.

Strength…
It took Kennedy Moore years to put her life back together after Reese Spencer shattered it.  But she did.  Now, years later, strong and independent, she is in pursuit of a single dream—to dance with the Altman American Dance Theater.  Unfortunately, Kennedy is learning that a girl from nowhere with no money and no contacts might never be able to reach her goal.  

That is, until Reese reappears, offering a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity that Kennedy just can’t refuse.  In exchange for working on his yacht for a few short weeks, he’ll get her an audition with the famous dance troupe.  All Kennedy has to do is keep her head down, work hard and resist Reese.  That sounds easy enough, right?

Weakness…
Reese doesn’t want to make it easy for Kennedy.  Seeing her again has started a fire in his blood—an unwelcome one.  It took him years to forget about her before, so this time he has a plan.  It’s simple:  Get Kennedy on his yacht, seduce her, get her out of his system, move on with his life.  That sounds easy enough, right? 

But the one thing Reese didn’t plan for was Kennedy herself—a girl so strong yet so broken, she makes him want to rescue her, to take care of her.  To save her.  Even if he has to save her from himself.


About M. Leighton:

M. Leighton is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Wild Ones and The Bad Boys romance trilogies.  She is a native of Ohio, relocated to the warmer climates of the South, where she lets her mind wander to romantic settings with sexy Southern guys much like the one she married and the ones you'll find in her latest books.  When her thoughts aren't roaming in that direction, she'll be riding horses, swimming in ponds and experiencing life on a ranch, all without leaving the cozy comfort of her office.  

For more about M. Leighton, visit her website at www.MLeightonBooks.blogspot.com or follow her on Twitter@mleightonbooks.

 Links:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

The ALL THE PRETTY POSES Giveaway

What’s up for grabs? 

·         2- $250 Visa Gift Cards

How do I enter?

Via the Rafflecopter posted here and on each participating site, you may:

·         Like the M. Leighton, Author Facebook page (5 points, can only do once)

·         Follow @mleightonbooks on Twitter (5 points, can only do once)

·         Share the giveaway graphic on Twitter along with one reason that you’re excited to meet Reese (10 points, can do once per day)
·         Tag three different friends in the comments under the graphic on the M. Leighton Author Facebook page with one reason you’re excited to meet Reese (10 points, can do once per day)

Details!
The giveaway begins at 12:00 am EST on January 14, 2014 and ends at 12:00 am EST on February 3, 2014.  Winners will be randomly selected by 5:00 pm EST on February 5, 2014.  For a complete list of rules, please see the “Rules” section of the Rafflecopter.

Saturday, January 25, 2014

"All the Pretty Poses" by M. Leighton - Review, Blog Tour and Giveaway



a Rafflecopter giveaway

The ALL THE PRETTY POSES Giveaway

What’s up for grabs? 

·         2- $250 Visa Gift Cards

How do I enter?

Via the Rafflecopter posted here and on each participating site, you may:

·         Like the M. Leighton, Author Facebook page (5 points, can only do once)

·         Follow @mleightonbooks on Twitter (5 points, can only do once)

·         Share the giveaway graphic on Twitter along with one reason that you’re excited to meet Reese (10 points, can do once per day)

·         Tag three different friends in the comments under the graphic on the M. Leighton Author Facebook page with one reason you’re excited to meet Reese (10 points, can do once per day)

Details!
The giveaway begins at 12:00 am EST on January 14, 2014 and ends at 12:00 am EST on February 3, 2014.  Winners will be randomly selected by 5:00 pm EST on February 5, 2014.  For a complete list of rules, please see the “Rules” section of the Rafflecopter.  


ABOUT ALL THE PRETTY POSES:
He never wanted to be a hero…until she needed him to be.

Strength…
It took Kennedy Moore years to put her life back together after Reese Spencer shattered it.  But she did.  Now, years later, strong and independent, she is in pursuit of a single dream—to dance with the Altman American Dance Theater.  Unfortunately, Kennedy is learning that a girl from nowhere with no money and no contacts might never be able to reach her goal.  

That is, until Reese reappears, offering a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity that Kennedy just can’t refuse.  In exchange for working on his yacht for a few short weeks, he’ll get her an audition with the famous dance troupe.  All Kennedy has to do is keep her head down, work hard and resist Reese.  That sounds easy enough, right?

Weakness…
Reese doesn’t want to make it easy for Kennedy.  Seeing her again has started a fire in his blood—an unwelcome one.  It took him years to forget about her before, so this time he has a plan.  It’s simple:  Get Kennedy on his yacht, seduce her, get her out of his system, move on with his life.  That sounds easy enough, right? 

But the one thing Reese didn’t plan for was Kennedy herself—a girl so strong yet so broken, she makes him want to rescue her, to take care of her.  To save her.  Even if he has to save her from himself.

About M. Leighton:

M. Leighton is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Wild Ones and The Bad Boys romance trilogies.  She is a native of Ohio, relocated to the warmer climates of the South, where she lets her mind wander to romantic settings with sexy Southern guys much like the one she married and the ones you'll find in her latest books.  When her thoughts aren't roaming in that direction, she'll be riding horses, swimming in ponds and experiencing life on a ranch, all without leaving the cozy comfort of her office.  

For more about M. Leighton, visit her website at www.MLeightonBooks.blogspot.com or follow her on Twitter@mleightonbooks.
Links:
If you like contemporary romance, then you will probably love this book.  It has everything I've come to expect from this genre - beautiful characters, extreme steam, a fast-paced plot, and some twists and turns you might not expect.

Reese is a bit of a conundrum.  On the one hand, he's rich, cocky, tough, and emotionless.  On the other hand, whenever Kennedy's around, he turns protective and possessive.  No wonder Kennedy is trying to keep her distance.  And Kennedy?  She's very sweet, but she's been hurt so badly in the past that it's very difficult for her to trust Reese, and I don't blame her for guarding her heart.  

The story takes us from one of Reese's gentlemen's clubs to his family estate to his yacht and back again.  The setting is always changing, which adds a bit of refreshment.  I have to say I was a bit surprised by the ending, as well - I thought I had everything figured out, but I guess I didn't!

There were a few flashbacks to when Reese and Kennedy were teenagers, but I really wish there were more.  It would have been nice to feel their connection a bit more.  Other than that, I enjoyed this book while I was reading it.

My rating:


Between the Sheets Blog Tour and Giveaway!

Welcome to the "Between the Sheets" Blog Tour, featuring Jodi Ellen Malpas, C.C. Gibbs, Cecilia Tan and Kate McKinley!

My question today is: Have you come across any interesting facts while researching?


Jodi Ellen Malpas:  Haha! I’ve just gone into my Google search history to remind myself of what I’ve researched lately. You don’t even want to know what I found!

Cecilia Tan: I had fun researching locations for Slow Seduction. I actually went to England for a business trip so I was able to set a lot of scenes in places I visited like York and London. But because Karina is working in a London museum and on an exhibit of the Pre-Raphaelite painters, I ended up learning a ton of stuff about painters like Edward Burne-Jones. In particular, I learned he had a tumultuous love life and never really reconciled his feelings between his wife and his mistress. His paintings are so romantic, so full of longing and desire with an undercurrent of angst. Slow Seduction is already a mix of lust and angst so it was fascinating to find out that the painter I used by chance as Karina's favorite was really appropriate.

C.C. Gibbs: I adore research. My early books had footnotes. Even with contemporary stories I do a lot of research. For instance the temperature in Singapore only varies by a few degrees all year long. It’s consistently a sweltering tropical heat. You need to know neighborhoods, streets, restaurants, languages, customs wherever you place your characters.    

Kate McKinley: I’m always finding interesting tidbits while researching—it’s one of the reasons I love writing historical romance. The most amusing was the use of vaginal or pelvic message by medical professionals on women to relieve the symptoms of hysteria—which was a diagnosable condition, at the time. Imagine going to the doctor’s office to get, uh, serviced! Awkward!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
THIS MAN CONFESSED by Jodi Ellen Malpas (January 21, 2014; Forever Trade Paperback; $15.00)
Ava and Jesse are getting married. The Manor is filled with guests as the couple weds in the very place where their passionate love affair began. While Ava understands she'll never tame Jesse--and wouldn't want to--she believes his troubles are now behind him. But on what should be the happiest day of her life, Ava is faced with new problems. Her brother, Dan, disapproves of her marriage and is determined to make her see that Jesse isn't the man she thinks he is. Could there be truth to his words? Is Jesse hiding another dark secret? Ava loves Jesse deeply, but has she bound herself to a man who cherishes her and will take her to the edge of ecstasy--or to the brink of despair?

Bio:
Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, UK, where she lives with her family.  Working for the family construction business fulltime and with the prospect of taking it over once her father retired, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing a novel until it became impossible. She finally found the time and courage to release her creative streak and in October 2012 self-published This Man as an e-book.  She took a chance on a story with some intense characters, notably Mr. Jesse Ward, the Lord of the Manor, and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world.  Two months later,  Jodi made the decision to give up her day job to concentrate on her new and very unexpected career in writing.

Social Media Links:

Buy Links:

ALL HE NEEDS by C.C. Gibbs (December 17, 2013; Forever Trade Paperback; $12.00)
Brilliant. Wealthy.  Powerful.  Dominic Knight is one of the hottest tech developers in the world--and the most demanding lover Kate Hart has ever known.  Whether in the boardroom or the bedroom, he is always in charge.  But there is one thing he cannot control:  Kate's fiery heart...

As a master in her field, talented Kate surpassed Dominic's wildest expectations.  As a woman of uncommon intelligence and beauty, she unlocked something deep within him.  Yet since their professional relationship--and erotically charged affair--came to an end, the fire in him has only grown stronger.

Now, the man who has everything will do whatever it takes to reclaim the woman he lost.  From Boston and Paris to Singapore and San Francisco, he will lure Kate back into his elite world of privilege and passion.  Together, they will test the limits of desire and the boundaries of discipline.  For both, this is uncharted territory--naked, reckless, and uninhibited.  But when Dominic's deadliest enemies target Kate, he must face his darkest fears...and admit to himself that she is all he needs.

Bio:
C.C. Gibbs is the pen name of a New York Times bestselling author. She lives in the Midwest, at times in Northern California, is married with three children and considers the life of a writer the best of all possible worlds. Bringing characters to life allows her imagination full rein, while the creative process offers fascinating glimpses into the machinery of the mind. And last but not least, researching anything, but particularly a book like ALL HE DESIRES--thank you Google--is great fun!

Social Media Links:

Buy Links:

SLOW SEDUCTION by Cecilia Tan (January 28, 2014; Forever Trade Paperback; $10.00)
Unforgettable passion . . .

Two months have passed since Karina's painful departure from James, the mysterious lover who awakened her darkest desires, and she'll do anything-anything-to locate him and win him back. Her search takes her to London, where she finds herself immersed in the world of fine art and forbidden pleasures. And soon, Karina meets another enigmatic man who promises to help her find James . . . for a price.

Unexpected pleasure . . . 

Damon George is rich, gorgeous, and a member of a secret society that caters to the sensual thrills of the wealthy and powerful. Though Karina insists her heart will always belong to James, Damon is determined to have her, body and soul. By the time she finds James, Karina has been "trained" to please another. Will James reject her again . . . or find her more irresistible than ever?

Bio:
Cecilia Tan writes about her many passions, from erotic fantasy to baseball, from her home in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She is the author of many books, including The Siren and the Sword, The Tower and the Tears, The Incubus and the Angel, Black Feathers, Mind Games, White Flames,and The 50 Greatest Yankee Games. She has edited over 50 anthologies of erotica for Red Silk Editions, Thunder's Mouth Press, Blue Moon Books, Masquerade Books, Ravenous Romance, and for the publishing house she founded, Circlet Press. Her short fiction has appeared in Ms. Magazine, Asimov's Science Fiction magazine, Best American Erotica, and many other places, and her nonfiction on baseball has been in Slow Trains, Baseball Ink, Gotham Baseball Magazine, Yankees Magazine, Yankees Annual, and elsewhere. 

Social Media Links:

Buy Links:

A COUNTESS BY CHANCE by Kate McKinley (January 7, 2014; Forever E-Novella; $0.99)
A gambler's daughter, Sophia Weatherby knows her way around a deck of cards. So when her family estate becomes threatened, she has no choice but to use her skills at the gaming tables to save herself from ruin. A lavish house party affords her the perfect opportunity-until the newly minted Earl of Huntington arrives. Adam Greyson has never forgotten the day Sophia rejected his proposal. Now to even the score, he challenges her to a shocking wager-his two thousand pounds against the one valuable commodity she has left: her virtue.

Bio:
KATE MCKINLEY writes Regency and Fantasy Romance. When she's not staring at her screen, dreaming up delicious heroes, she's a wife, mother and part-time assistant.

Social Media Links:

Buy Links:

Friday, January 24, 2014

Feature and Follow Friday!

Hi there, I'm happy to be participating once more in Feature and Follow Friday!

To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:
  1. (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
  2. (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
  3. Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
  4. Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say "hi" in your comments and that they are now following you.
  5. If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn't have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
  6. Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don't just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don't say "HI"
  7. If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love...and the followers
  8. If you're new to the follow friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

Question of the Week: What books are you looking forward to reading in 2014?

"Scarlet" was one of my fave reads of 2013, so "Cress" is definitely at the top of my list for 2014!

I just finished reading "Secret" by Brigid Kemmerer, the fourth in the Elemental Series, so I'm really excited to read "Sacrifice".  It won't be released until October, though, sniff.

"Fangirl" is another one.  I just finished "Eleanor and Park", and I loved it, so I'll definitely be checking this one out in the near future.

That's just the three at the top of my head, but I know there's a couple of hundred more on my TBR!  What's on your list?

Anyway, I would love it if you decide to follow me!  If you do, be sure to leave a comment and I'll follow you back!!!




Saturday, January 18, 2014

Review Tour and Giveaway: "A Little Too Hot" by Lisa Desrochers



BOOK SUMMARY:

From USA Today bestselling author Lisa Desrochers comes the third book in her sizzling new adult series.
If you play with fire …
Tossed out of college and cut off by her parents, Samantha West is in pretty dire straits. So when her rocker best friend hooks her up with a job dancing at a gentlemen's club, who is she to turn it down? Plus, there are rules to dancing at Benny's: No touching, keep your clothes on at all times, and never get closer than three feet. Unfortunately for Sam, her first private client makes her want to break every single one of them.
Harrison Yates is scorching hot, but he's got a past that involves being left at the altar not too long ago. Sam is determined to make him forget about his ex, but when she makes her move, it
flings her life into a spiral of chaos she never saw coming. Because Harrison Yates isn't who he seems to be. And his secret will probably get her killed.


"Every page is deliciously breathtaking, wickedly sexy and sensational. A LITTLE TOO HOT is wonderfully unique and a LOT HOT! I am a HUGE Lisa Desrochers fan."
-- KATY EVANS, New York Times bestselling author of REAL


"Lisa is brilliant at creating sizzling sexual tension and impossible circumstances that make the reader hold their breath all the way to happy ever after. Sam and Harrison are more than A Little Too Hot, they are scorching!"
-- JAY CROWNOVER, New York Times bestselling author of RULE


"Lisa Desrochers' best yet! A LITTLE TOO HOT is hotter than hot with all the emotional punch to back it up!"
-- SOPHIE JORDAN, New York Times bestselling author


Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/ 18053117-a-little-too-hot

Book Buy Links: 


Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1cpveCZ 

Author Information



LISA DESROCHERS is the USA Today bestselling author of the A Little Too Far series, courtesy of HarperCollins, and the young adult Personal Demons trilogy from Macmillan. She lives in Northern California with her husband, two very busy daughters, and Shini the tarantula. Find her online at www.lisadwrites.com , on Twitter at @LisaDez, and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/LisaDesrochersAuthor.

Author Links: 

Thank you to InkSlinger PR and Lisa Desrochers for allowing me to read and review an ARC of this book.

I have to say this book really surprised me in that I didn't get what I thought I was getting.  I thought I was going to be reading a typical New Adult book, with a girl-meets-boy-and-lives-happily-ever-after type theme.  Maybe there would be some bumps along the way, misunderstandings or other conflict, but basically that would be the gist of it, and I would be left satisfied with my wham-bam-thank-you-ma'am read.  In other words, a book that is fun while it lasted, but leaves me ready for the next one, and probably forgetting the names of the characters and possibly the name of the book.  (I kid you not, this has been happening plenty lately!)    

Well, I am happy to say that I was wrong!  There was actual ACTION in this book!!!  Like, bad guys with guns type action!  And there's some suspense and intrigue as well, not to mention the steam between the two main characters.  I really liked that aspect of this book, and it ensures that I will be remembering "A Little Too Hot" above others in the NA genre.

As for the characters, Samantha is different than what I expected, too.  She is young and beautiful, but she's also a party animal/screw up.  Having partied my fair share in university, I know how difficult it can be to achieve balance between a social life and school, and I've also seen my fair share of people, male and female, who just can't do it and end up flunking out exactly as Sam has done.  This made me empathize with her, but it also created some problems I had with character motivation.  

Harrison, on the other hand, took me a while to warm up to.  At first I thought he was a total slime!  I mean, who spends hundreds on private dances?  Slimeballs!  And I thought that Sam was absolutely stupid for allowing herself to be attracted to him.  But after a while, once his visits to the club were justified, the guy kind of grew on me.  

Here's where my questions pop up.  What does Harrison see in Sam?  I understand the whole physical attraction thing, and at least they have martial arts in common, but other than that... I just don't get it.  He's older, and he's wicked smart, and she's kind of immature and...well, she's smart, but she's no rocket scientist!  

Anyway, other than that minor issue, I really enjoyed this book.  

My rating: 




a Rafflecopter giveaway