Monday, January 26, 2015

Review: "We Should Hang Out Sometime" by Josh Sundquist

A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist: Paralympic ski racer, YouTube star, and motivational speaker. Josh Sundquist only ever had one girlfriend. For twenty-three hours. In eighth grade. Why was Josh still single? To find out, he tracked down the girls he had tried to date and asked them straight up: What went wrong? The results of Josh's semiscientific, wholly hilarious investigation are captured here. From a disastrous Putt-Putt date involving a backward prosthetic foot, to his introduction to CFD (Close Fast Dancing), to a misguided "grand gesture" at a Miss America pageant, this story is about looking for love--or at least a girlfriend--in all the wrong places.
Thank you to Little, Brown Books for Young Readers via Netgalley for the review copy of this book.

Did I like this book?

I loved this book!  And I kind of fell in love with the author, too, so Josh Sundquist, if you're out there somewhere reading this and you wanna, you know, hang out sometime, I would totally be up for that!

All joking aside, I think this is a fantastic book that I will surely remember for a long time, and I'll definitely be recommending it to my daughter for when she's a bit older.  I only wish I could convince my son to read it - he's not much of a reader these days, unfortunately- as it would offer him some good advice, especially in the area of "what not to do" in certain social situations.

The writing was fantastic, pulling me in from the first page.  I remember reading this while on the elliptical at the gym and hoping the lady beside me didn't notice my snort laugh- yeah, it was that funny!  

Will you like this book?

I can't think of a reason why anyone would NOT like this book!  My only complaint is that I wanted more, especially at the end.  I know this is a memoir and you can't really change the ending of a true story, but I just needed a more detailed resolution.  Seriously though, that is it, that's my only (teeny tiny) problem.  Highly recommended!

Will I read more by this author?

I guess it depends on what else Josh Sundquist decides to write.  But yeah, if the topic is one I'm interested in, I would absolutely read more by him!

My rating:

 

Sunday, January 25, 2015

Review: "The Walled City" by Ryan Graudin

730. That's how many days I've been trapped. 18. That's how many days I have left to find a way out. DAI, trying to escape a haunting past, traffics drugs for the most ruthless kingpin in the Walled City. But in order to find the key to his freedom, he needs help from someone with the power to be invisible.... JIN hides under the radar, afraid the wild street gangs will discover her biggest secret: Jin passes as a boy to stay safe. Still, every chance she gets, she searches for her lost sister.... MEI YEE has been trapped in a brothel for the past two years, dreaming of getting out while watching the girls who try fail one by one. She's about to give up, when one day she sees an unexpected face at her window..... In this innovative and adrenaline-fueled novel, they all come together in a desperate attempt to escape a lawless labyrinth before the clock runs out.

My thanks to Little, Brown Books for Young Readers via Netgalley for the free review copy in exchange for my honest opinion.

Did I like this book?

I was so surprised by how much I liked this book!  I thought the world building and character development were both done fantastically well, and I loved the unique premise of the book.  

The story is told from the points of view of the three main characters, and while I loved all three, I'd have to say Jin was my favourite - she was just so tough and brave!  Probably my next favourite aspect of this book was the walled city itself- I found Graudin's descriptions to be amazing, allowing me to imagine perfectly how such a place would appear in real life.  (The photos at the end of the book were a real surprise- I had no idea that such a place had ever existed!)

The writing was another strength- I found myself reading certain passages over again simply because of the beauty of the words!  Absolutely lovely!

If I were to change one thing, it would have to be the ending, not because of how things were resolved, but because it just seemed to linger way too long.  I think the last two or three sections could have been cut out or edited down, but that's just my personal opinion.

Will you like this book?

If you enjoy a bit of grit and action in your YA fare, as well as beautiful prose, I think that you will really enjoy "The Walled City".  For a minute while I was reading, I thought there might be some sort of love triangle, but for those of you who hate triangles, I'm happy to report there isn't one!

Will I read more by this author?

Without hesitation, yes!  Very much looking forward to what this promising author will come up with next.

My rating:

Friday, January 23, 2015

"Blurred Lines" by Jen McLaughlin - Trailer Reveal!

BlurredLines

Blurred Lines by Jen McLaughlin will be releasing January 26th, but first we have some exclusive content to share. FINNClub team members have been sharing special details from the book this week in order to share their excitement for the new novel. Be sure to check out the contest below for a chance to win the series.

Today we have the incredible book trailer from Blurred Lines.

  OOLSeriesBanner

BOOK TRAILER

 
  BOOK BLURB: Once burned… Finding my fiancée naked on my couch might’ve been a good thing, if her ex-boyfriend hadn’t been with her. For the past eight years I’ve been a witness to the power of true love, but after getting burned I’d decided there wasn’t any hope for me finding it for myself. Until I met Noelle Brandt in a hotel bar. Maybe it wasn’t the most romantic meeting, but the moment I met her I knew I had to have her. The more I learn about her, the more I know I’ll do whatever it takes to keep her. Twice shy… I’d already found the love of my life, but I’d lost that love forever. And I’d been lost ever since. But one night a wounded man makes all of that go away. He makes me laugh, live, and feel alive. When he tells me he has no intention of letting me go, I finally begin to believe in the power of true love again. That is, until I find out who he really is…and by then, it’s far too late to correct the mistakes we’ve already made. By the time we both know the truth, the lines have already been blurred beyond recognition.   BL_TeaserPACK2  
a Rafflecopter giveaway
JenM   Jen McLaughlin is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of sexy New Adult books. Under her pen name Diane Alberts, she is a multi-published, bestselling author of Contemporary Romance with Entangled Publishing. Her first release as Jen McLaughlin, Out of Line, released September 6 2013, and hit the New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal lists. She was mentioned in Forbes alongside E. L. James as one of the breakout independent authors to dominate the bestselling lists. She is represented by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency. Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal-clear water. Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal-clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, and a cat. Her goal is to write so many well-crafted romance books that even a non-romance reader will know her name. Website: www.jenmclaughlin.com Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/DianeAlberts6 Twitter: https://twitter.com/DianeAlberts Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6921962.Jen_McLaughlin   Blogger Button 
 

Sunday, January 18, 2015

Review: "By A Thread" by R.L. Griffin


Stella's future was set, and it was a bright one. She was engaged to a man she adored, and was headed to law school in the fall. Tragically, her perfectly planned future ends just as it was beginning. With no ties to family or friends, Stella finds herself alone in a new city, spiraling out of control. Her typical day comes to a close with her passed out on the floor; sometimes clothed. Luckily, her new roommate, essentially a stranger, is dead set on getting Stella past her grief and back to functioning within society. Putting one foot in front of the other, she climbs up from the bottom of a bottle. Even with all her progress, Stella walks through life unfeeling, numb. Defiant, she sends out warning signals for the world to keep away. But, is that what she really wants? With the steadfast help of a few tight knit friends, she gradually begins to feel again. She starts to savor the flavor of food again; lets herself notice how the handsome bartender glances at her. Still, after allowing herself a fling, she wonders if she will ever be able to let go of her shattered past, fully enjoy the present, or get over what she thought would be her perfect future and with the man who destroyed her heart.

Thank you to the author via Netgalley for allowing me to read this book for free in exchange for my honest opinion.

Did I like this book?

There were many things about this book I appreciated, but I'd have to say the one thing that stands out for me is Stella.  I don't think I've ever read a character like her before!  She is bold, brash, and brazen.  She's also erratic, impulsive and unpredictable.  She feels everything so deeply, and Griffin does a fantastic job of describing Stella's emotions in an extremely realistic way.  It's funny that, while I sometimes loved Stella, she also drove me nuts!  I don't think I could be friends with someone like her - she is just way too much maintenance.

Aside from Stella, however, I felt the characters could use some more background.  Patrick, Billy, Millie and George all play a huge role in Stella's life, but I never had a clear picture of what made any of them tick.  Which leads me to one of the things I couldn't understand - why would Patrick and Billy, Stella's new roommates and virtual strangers to her at the beginning of the book, put up with her awful behaviour?  Stella drinks, a lot, and throughout the book, Patrick and/or Billy are always there to babysit her and pick up the pieces.  And what did either of them get out of their relationship with Stella?  Not much.  A dog to look after, and Patrick gained a workout partner.  Anyway, I was constantly skeptical, just waiting for one of the guys to hit on Stella, and while things became a bit more clear near the end of the book, I thought their relationship could have been explained better.  

There are definitely some twists in this book, and while I enjoyed the unpredictability of this approach, in the end I don't think it worked for me.  The pacing seemed...odd, for lack of a better word.  There are big events in the beginning and ending of the book, with literally no build up, but the middle is filled with a lot of day to day...not much.  Stella's drinking and exercising and studying.  There isn't even much steam. There is the illusion of sex, but it's always the fade-to-black variety.  If it wasn't for the prologue indicating that a big event was going to happen, I probably would have stopped reading.

Will you like this book?

If you are looking for a feisty heroine who is far from perfect, you might enjoy "By A Thread".  Griffin has a unique writing style, and there are some unpredictable twists, so if the synopsis sounds interesting to you, by all means give it a shot.

Would I read more by this author?

At this point, the jury's out.  I don't feel invested enough in this story line or these characters to carry on with the series.  However, I think Griffin's writing has potential, so I will keep an open mind to other titles or series that she may publish in the future.

My rating:

Review: "Shooting Scars" by Karina Halle


The USA Today Bestseller!! A Dangerous Kind of Love . . . When Ellie Watt offered herself to her thuggish former lover Javier to save Camden's life, she never imagined the twisted game Javier had planned for her. Trapped by him and his entourage of killers, Ellie is forced to commit a dangerous, heinous crime-or Javier will kill Camden. Now ex-con artist Ellie must find a way to stay ahead of the game . . . before it destroys her and the only man she ever loved. Camden McQueen can't forget Ellie Watt. Seeking revenge and pursued by the authorities for a crime he didn't commit, the talented tattoo artist does things he never thought himself capable of to save Ellie. As Camden straddles the line between love and retribution, he vows to do everything in his power to get her back. But if Camden unleashes his dark side, will Ellie still love him?

Thank you to Forever (Grand Central Publishing) via Netgalley for the free review copy!

Did I like this book?:

While I "liked" this book, it just didn't have the same pull on me as "Sins and Needles" did.  I've been trying to figure out what the problem was, why I kept picking this book up only to set it down for extended breaks, and I'm still not sure.  The only thing I can come up with is that Camden and Ellie were separated for a good chunk of the book, so there wasn't that build up of their relationship, which I really enjoyed in "Sins and Needles".  Instead, Ellie is forced to spend time with Javier, who is just evil and slimey, and Camden is hanging out with a guy named Gus.  Although Camden builds a pretty decent friendship with Gus, they just don't have the same steam factor as Camden does with Ellie!  So sue me, I guess I was missing the steam!

There are some really great moments in "Shooting Scars".  I don't think I'll ever forget what Camden did with his tattoo gun - that was seriously intense!  And I'll never look at Coffemate the same way again!  The action and danger is still prevalent, so I was pleased with that.  Despite some disturbing developments, I'm still looking forward to continuing this series.

Will you like this book?

If you liked "Sins and Needles", then you definitely have to read "Shooting Scars"!  You may end up being like me and not enjoying it as much, but it's still worth continuing this series.

Will I read more by this author?

Absolutely!  I love Halle's writing style, and I already have several of her books on my TBR list.  Can't wait to read more from this talented Canadian writer, including "Bold Tricks", the final book in The Artists Trilogy.

My rating:

Review: "Bad Romeo" by Leisa Rayven


When Cassie Taylor met Ethan Holt at acting school, sparks flew. She was the good girl actress. He was the bad boy about campus. But one fated casting choice for Romeo and Juliet changed it all. Like the characters they were playing, Cassie and Ethan's romance seemed destined. Until he broke her heart and betrayed her trust. Now the A-list heartthrob is back in her life and turning her world around. One touch at a time. Cast as romantic leads once again, they're forced to confront raw memories of the heartbreaking lows and pulse-pounding highs of their secret college affair. But they'll also discover that people who rub each other the wrong way often make the best sparks.

Thank you to St. Martin's Press via Netgalley for the free review copy!

Did I like this book?:

You know, I was absolutely loving this book until very close to the end.  I loved both Cassie and Ethan - Cassie was just hilarious at times, being the horniest virgin I've ever seen, and Ethan was that perfect mix of arrogant and vulnerable that made him oh so intriguing. The tension and angst between them was written so well, and I was pulled into their story from the first page.  But then, things started to go on too long, and it felt like their relationship wasn't really moving ahead, and then ugh!  The book ended and I realized there's a sequel!!!  I felt like throwing my book across the room, that's how frustrated I was!  I just feel like this book could have been written as a standalone, and I would have been SO much happier.

The story is told from Cassie's point of view, but in three different ways.  There's the current time line, then there's the time line from six years ago, and then there's some diary entries from six years ago as well.  The three are told alternately, and if this sounds like a bit of overkill, you're probably right.  Something would happen six years ago, and then a similar event would occur in the present tense, and it just got a bit redundant.  Even so, I enjoyed the slow reveal of some of the details up until the very end, when I felt like the entire read was completely pointless.

Will you like this book? 

I'm not sure.  Maybe if you go into this one knowing that there is a sequel, you won't be expecting anything to be resolved and you will enjoy it.  If you enjoy tension and angst to the extreme, you might like this book.  I don't feel I can say either yay or nay as far as this one is concerned.

Will I read more from this author?:

I'm so turned off at this point that I don't think I'll read more of this series.  Then again, time will pass and I may change my mind.  I do, however, enjoy Rayven's writing, so I think I would like to read more from her, as long as I know going in whether I'll be reading part one of a series or a standalone. 

My rating:  3 stars!

Saturday, January 17, 2015

"Blurred Lines" by Jen McLaughlin - Excerpt and Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

BlurredLines

Blurred Lines by Jen McLaughlin will be releasing January 26th, but first we have some exclusive content to share. FINNClub team members will be sharing special details from the book this week, in order to share their excitement for the new novel.

Today we have the first chapter from Blurred Lines.

  OOLSeriesBanner  

Blurred Lines - Chapter one Riley

I parked my car in the driveway and just sat there, staring up at the house I shared with my fiancée, Sarah. It was dark outside, and somewhere in the distance, a dog barked. It sounded pissed as hell, but that wasn’t why I didn’t get out of the car. It wasn’t why I was sitting here, feeling empty as hell and just as lost. The truth was, I wasn’t going inside because I knew my fiancée wasn’t in there alone. I’d seen the car parked down the road, conveniently hidden behind large shrubbery. If I was any other man, it might have worked. I might not have noticed it when I drove by on my way to my next meeting. But I’d know that fucking car anywhere. It was Sarah’s ex-boss’s car. The same one she’d once dated. When we’d met, they’d been freshly split up. He’d broken her heart, and she’d sworn him off forever. We’d dated a suitable amount of time before getting engaged. My parents had liked her, and so had I. It had been an arranged marriage of sorts, but in my circles, that wasn’t such a strange thing. Our fathers were political affiliates. We were expected to marry. Once upon a time, I’d hoped to have more. I’d hoped to have the kind of love that consumed your soul. I still hadn’t found it. So, I’d asked Sarah to marry me. She’d said yes. I’d thought she loved me. I’d been fairly certain I would grow to love her. But if she really loved me… Why the hell was her ex-boyfriend’s car outside my house? Slowly, I opened my car door and made my way up the driveway. My heart thudded in my ears, and I knew what I’d find when I opened that door. There was no doubt my fiancée was naked and having sex with another man. And yet, I went inside anyway. The door creaked when it opened, and I froze, half expecting to hear frantic shouting and retreating footsteps. Nothing moved. I crept inside the rest of the way, leaving the front door open. As I walked, I found a man’s sweater on the floor. I stepped on it. Another step and I scored a pair of men’s pants and a skirt. There was no doubt anymore, if there ever had been, that my fiancée was cheating on me. I didn’t need to go any farther. I had confirmation. But still… I kept going. For some reason, I needed to see it with my own eyes to believe it. I’d truly believed Sarah was an honest woman. One who wouldn’t sleep with someone behind my back. I’d thought she would be a good partner for life. A trustworthy one. I reached the couch. The couch I’d picked out. Sarah was kneeling between her ex’s feet. She was naked, and so was her ex. The man’s bare ass was on my fucking couch. I didn’t know what upset me more: that, or the fact that she was giving the dude a BJ. She never did that with me. Said it was undignified. So was fucking a dude on my couch. And, yes, I knew that the fact that those two things bothered me just as much as the actual betrayal did was fucked up. But I hadn’t loved her. I’d wanted to… But I didn’t really know what real love felt like. Fisting my hands, I cleared my throat. “I’m home early.” Sarah shrieked and flew to her feet, grabbing the throw blanket off the arm of my couch and covering her body with it. Which was absurd, really. We’d both seen her naked before, obviously. The man also stood, grabbing a pillow and covering his half-hard dick with it. “You can keep that now,” I said drily, not taking my eyes off Sarah. She was pale and shaking. I forced myself to remain calm. To act as if this hadn’t completely taken me off guard, even if it hadn’t broken me like it should have. “So, I take it the engagement is off, then?” “Riley, I’m so sorry.” Tears streamed down her cheeks. “I didn’t want you to see this…” “Obviously,” I said. “Cheaters rarely do.” She shook her head, her blonde hair flying everywhere. “No. I’m not a cheater. I just—” “Seriously?” I threw my arms out. “If this isn’t cheating, what the hell do you call it?” Her cheeks flushed. “I love him, Riley. Really love him.” I froze then, absorbing the knowledge that she’d felt the same way about me that I felt about her—and I hadn’t even known it. I’d naïvely thought she actually loved me, instead of just, well, accepting me as a suitable partner. How had I missed that? “I thought you loved me,” I said softly, scratching my head. “I didn’t know…” “I do.” She came up to me, resting her hand on my heart. The same hand that had been cupping another man’s balls moments before. That skeeved me out, so I stepped back from her touch. “I love you, Riley.” “But you’re not in love with me,” I said, swallowing hard. I might not love her till my dying breath, but the reality of what was happening hit me pretty hard. We were together for three fucking years, and it was over now. We’d just mailed the wedding invitations out last week. And she’d been fucking him. “I’m sorry,” she whispered, tears falling down her cheeks. I had no doubt she was. She was always a nice person, which was why this came as such a shock. I never suspected this of her. Hell, we’d made love last night, and she’d spent half an hour talking about wedding dresses and centerpieces. I locked eyes with her bright green ones. “When did this start?” “Riley…” “When?” She crumbled. “A week ago.” The dude finally spoke up. He took a step forward. “Look, man, I’m sorry, but—” Without thinking, I cocked my fist back and punched him right in the fucking face. He’d broken her heart, and now he was going to do it again. She might think he’d changed, but any man who would fuck another man’s fiancée on his own couch was not a changed man. He was scum, pure and simple. And she’d fallen for him again. “Don’t speak to me,” I snarled. I went after him, even though he stumbled backward and tripped over a fallen pillow. “Don’t you ever fucking—” “Riley, don’t!” Sarah called out, sobbing. “Please. Don’t hurt him.” I fisted my hands, my breathing coming out harsh. She’d cheated on me with this lowlife, and she was worried I’d hurt him? I whirled on her. “If you loved me, even if you weren’t in love with me, you wouldn’t have done this, Sarah. Not to me.” She covered her face and cried. “I’m sorry.” “Yeah.” I shook my head. “You made a big mistake, Sarah. I would have treated you right. I never would have…never…I wouldn’t have done this.” “But you don’t love me,” she whispered. “You never have.” “I care about you. I respect you.” I looked at her again. “I would have treated you right. That’s more important than love. And it’s safer, too.” “I know,” she said, shrugging hopelessly. “I wanted more, though.” And she thought she’d find it with this guy? I looked at him again. He sat on the floor, butt-assed naked and shaking. Pathetic. Turning my attention back to her, I forced a calm smile. My lawyer smile, as I liked to call it. The one that said: I have no problem with taking your ass to court and whooping it publicly, so you better enter a plea bargain. I’d never given it to her before. “Well, then, I wish you the best of luck. Goodbye.” Sarah stumbled after me, grabbing my arm. “Wait. What will we tell everyone?” “Tell them whatever you want.” I shook off her hold. “I don’t care.” She grabbed for me again, but I pulled back. “But—” “I said I don’t care, okay?” I held my hands up. “You were right about one thing—I never loved you. So, I don’t give a damn what you say to them.” She covered her mouth and cried. I felt nothing. Not really. But I didn’t want her touching me. Not anymore. This was the second time I’d found my significant other in bed with another man. The first time had been in college, and it had hurt like hell. I’d actually loved her…or I’d thought I had, anyway. Now I was starting to think I was incapable of love. Sure, I’d loved a girl once, but she hadn’t loved me back. She’d been in love with her now-husband, and they were the only couple I knew actually in love. Like, the kind you see in movies. Finn and Carrie had it, but I never would. Not in this lifetime. I stumbled out the door, tugging on my tie as I went. It felt tight. As if it had come to life and decided to choke what little life I had left out of me. I was tempted to let it. I was stuck in a job I hated, at a firm my father owned, and now I was single, too. And for the second time in my life, I’d been duplicitously cheated on. Was it something I’d done? Something that was missing in me that made my women look elsewhere? Maybe I was broken. Maybe I should stop trying to find a partner and just accept the fact that I was better off alone. Maybe I should just stop trying. But first? I’d call off the meeting that I was already late to…and I’d get drunk as hell as quickly as possible. I’d get so drunk that I’d forget all about Sarah and the naked man on my couch. So drunk that I’d forget all about how broken I was, because instead of being heartbroken over her betrayal, I was angry that we’d have to deal with the mess she’d made. I was mad I’d have to tell my mother that I was no longer marrying the woman she’d handpicked for me, and deal with the drama that came with it all. But I wasn’t upset I lost her… Not at all.     BOOK BLURB: Once burned… Finding my fiancée naked on my couch might’ve been a good thing, if her ex-boyfriend hadn’t been with her. For the past eight years I’ve been a witness to the power of true love, but after getting burned I’d decided there wasn’t any hope for me finding it for myself. Until I met Noelle Brandt in a hotel bar. Maybe it wasn’t the most romantic meeting, but the moment I met her I knew I had to have her. The more I learn about her, the more I know I’ll do whatever it takes to keep her. Twice shy… I’d already found the love of my life, but I’d lost that love forever. And I’d been lost ever since. But one night a wounded man makes all of that go away. He makes me laugh, live, and feel alive. When he tells me he has no intention of letting me go, I finally begin to believe in the power of true love again. That is, until I find out who he really is…and by then, it’s far too late to correct the mistakes we’ve already made. By the time we both know the truth, the lines have already been blurred beyond recognition. BL_TeaserPACK1   JenM   Jen McLaughlin is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of sexy New Adult books. Under her pen name Diane Alberts, she is a multi-published, bestselling author of Contemporary Romance with Entangled Publishing. Her first release as Jen McLaughlin, Out of Line, released September 6 2013, and hit the New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal lists. She was mentioned in Forbes alongside E. L. James as one of the breakout independent authors to dominate the bestselling lists. She is represented by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency. Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal-clear water. Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal-clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, and a cat. Her goal is to write so many well-crafted romance books that even a non-romance reader will know her name. Website: http://dianealberts.com/ Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/DianeAlberts6 Twitter: https://twitter.com/DianeAlberts Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6921962.Jen_McLaughlin   Blogger Button

Sunday, January 11, 2015

Review: "Rush" by Violet Vaughn


Zero to sixty in one second… Olympic hopeful Gretchen Nickelson doesn’t do love. Men exist for sex and a good time. Snowboarding is her main priority and a clingy boyfriend will only get between her and a spot on the Olympic team. Dark and dangerous Derrick Hamilton is all for the physical approach. His carefully guarded heart likes it hard and fast. Meeting an adrenaline junkie like Gretchen suits his sexual needs just fine. But when a steamy relationship races out of control toward love, tragedy is inevitable, and hearts aren’t the only collateral. Their accidental love threatens Gretchen’s chance for gold. Can they survive the destruction that changes everything?


Thank you to Netgalley and Victory Editing for allowing me to read and review an advance copy of this book.

I'm sorry, but I found this book to be just ridiculous!  It is so bad it's laughable!  But just because I don't like it doesn't mean you won't like it.  For example, if you enjoy books where the main character constantly has moisture pooling between her legs, sometimes from just a look from the love interest, then this is the book for you.  If you love it when authors overuse words like "core" - seriously, that word is used twenty two times in this book, and Gretchen's core is always twitching and flexing! - then by all means, rush to pick up "Rush"!  If you like the idea of insta-lust developing between two characters while they're trying to revive a dead man, if that sounds even remotely plausible to you and you can read it with a straight face, then "Rush" is your next favourite book.  

I was hoping when I requested this book that I would find a diamond in the rough.  I liked the premise of a tough, independent, serious female athlete being the main character.  Although Gretchen does display these qualities some of the time, she alone was not enough to keep me reading this book.  In the 90 pages of this book I read, I did not find anything remotely romantic or sexy.  Almost everything out of Derrick's mouth made me cringe or gag, if not laugh out loud.  And Gretchen was not much better with her flexing, twitching core and her gushing girly parts!  This book was definitely not for me, and sadly this will be my last read from Violet Vaughn.

My Rating: 1 star