Wednesday, April 29, 2015

"Meant for You" by Samantha Chase - Spotlight and Giveaway!


Book Information

Title: Meant For You
Author: Samantha Chase
Release Date: April 7, 2015
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Summary

She dares to dream...
Summer Montgomery wants to be taken seriously almost as much as she wants her brother's best friend, Ethan. But with a long resume of seemingly random career choices and a protective brother on watch, those things are nothing more than pipe dreams...

Does he dare to try?
Ethan Reed would like nothing more than to live by his own rules. Not wanting to disappoint his best friend Zach, or any of the Montgomerys, Ethan's had to push his long-denied feelings for Summer aside. But it only takes one night away from watchful eyes to make impossible dreams come true...

Excerpt

“This trail is a little bit boring, don’t you think?” Summer asked several hours later as they made their way down a marked path.

“I hadn’t really thought of it that way. There’s so much to see—different kinds of birds and plants… The weather is just fantastic—perfect for hiking.” He reached out and took one of Summer’s hands in his. “And the company is perfect.”

“Aw, aren’t you sweet,” she cooed and pulled him close for a kiss and sighed. “It is a beautiful day and everything is really pretty to look at… I was just hoping to see a little something more.”

“More? Like what?”

“Oh, I don’t know. Deer. Bears. A moose. You know, wildlife.”

Beside her, Ethan chuckled. “Summer, trust me when I say that you do not want to have an up-close encounter with any of those animals.”

“I just was expecting something a little more exciting. The only wildlife I have seen is a squirrel. And he wasn’t even doing anything entertaining.”

“What were you expecting? For it to be juggling or something?” he teased.

“No,” she said with a pout. “Maybe. I don’t know.”

Ethan pulled Summer into his embrace and took a moment to enjoy the feel of her in his arms. “What’s going on?” he asked softly.

“I don’t know… I feel like you’re always off doing these really cool, crazy things and that this seems a little tame for you.” She shrugged. “I’m not big on dangerous stuff, but I wanted us to have our own little adventure. Just the two of us.”

“Sweetheart, we’ve been having our own adventures for days,” he said and placed a kiss on the top of her head. “I don’t need an adventure. I just want to spend time with you.”

Summer looked up at him and smiled. “Really?”

He nodded. “Absolutely. I’m thankful that we have this time, without any prying eyes, just to get to know one another.”

“Ethan, we’ve known each other for years,” she said with a chuckle.

He shook his head. “No. The Summer Montgomery I knew was a girl. When you showed up at the office for the first time? I thought I was going to have a heart attack.”

“Really?” she purred and snuggled closer. “Do tell.”

“You’ve blossomed into this amazingly beautiful woman,” he said and kissed her temple. “I mean, you were always beautiful, but when you walked into my office that day, it was like you’d transformed. Gone was the young girl I always pictured when I thought of you and in her place was…” He pulled back and looked into her face. “You.” He sighed. “I look at you sometimes and it’s like I can’t breathe. And even standing here right now with you in my arms I can’t believe it’s real.”

“I feel that way, too,” she said quietly. “I’d had a crush on you for so long and you never noticed me and…”

“Wait, wait, wait… You had a crush on me?”

She rolled her eyes. “Oh come on, Ethan. You can’t tell me you didn’t know!” she said with a laugh. “Everyone knew! Hell, my brothers used to throw things at me to stop me from staring at you!”

Ethan stopped and thought about that for a moment and then started to laugh. “Seriously? That’s what that was about?”

“What?”

“I remember your brothers always throwing stuff at you…popcorn, socks… I think I remember James throwing a basketball at you once and I thought it was odd.”

“They told me I was being a nuisance.”

Shaking his head, Ethan continued to laugh. “Not to me, because clearly I didn’t even notice.”

“Thanks a lot!” she cried and went to pull away, but Ethan pulled her in close.

“Don’t take it like that,” he said and wrapped his arms around her. “I just meant that I never knew. I always thought you were beautiful and sometimes I had to wonder if your brothers ever caught mestaring at you.”

“I don’t know. Did they ever throw anything at your face for no reason?” she asked with a smirk.

“Not that I can remember. But it doesn’t matter. All I know is that you’re here now and I’m seeing you, Summer. Really seeing you.”

Her eyes went wide at his words and the sincerity behind them. “What do you see?”

“I see a woman I want to get to know better. A woman who is sexy and intelligent and just…everything.”

Buy Links

Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/MeantForYouBN
Author Biography

New York Times and USA Today Bestseller/contemporary romance writer Samantha Chase released her debut novel, Jordan's Return, in November 2011. Although she waited until she was in her 40's to publish for the first time, writing has been a lifelong passion. Her motivation to take that step was her students: teaching creative writing to elementary age students all the way up through high school and encouraging those students to follow their writing dreams gave Samantha the confidence to take that step as well.

When she's not working on a new story, she spends her time reading contemporary romances, playing way too many games of Scrabble or Solitaire on Facebook and spending time with her husband of 25 years and their two sons in North Carolina.

Social Networking Links


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Review: "The Trouble With Love" by Lauren Layne

As Lauren Layne’s salacious Sex, Love & Stiletto series returns, a jaded columnist discovers a steamy way to get over an old flame: falling for him all over again. As Stiletto magazine’s authority on all things breakup-and-heartache, Emma Sinclair writes from personal experience. Five years ago, Emma was Charlotte, North Carolina’s darling debutante and a blushing bride-to-be. Now she’s the ice queen of the Manhattan dating scene. Emma left her sultry Southern drawl behind, but not even her closest friends know that with it she left her heart. Now Emma’s latest article forces her to face her demons—namely, the devilishly sexy guy who ditched her at the altar. After giving up everything for a pro-soccer career, Alex Cassidy watches his dreams crumble as a knee injury sidelines him for good. Now he’s hanging up his cleats and giving journalism a shot. It’s just a coincidence that he happens to pick a job in the same field, and the same city, as his former fiancée . . . right? But when Emma moves in next door, it’s no accident. It’s research. And Alex can’t help wondering what might have been. Unlike the innocent girl he remembers, this Emma is chic, sophisticated, and assertive—and she wants absolutely nothing to do with him. The trouble is, Alex has never wanted her more. Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.
Thank you to Loveswept Publishing via Netgalley for the free review copy in exchange for my honest opinion.
Did I like this book?

I just finished reading this book this morning, and yeah, I did like it, but if I'm going to be completely honest here, it was also a little bland.  There's absolutely nothing wrong with this book, nothing that really pissed me off or irritated me, but there's also nothing overly memorable.  I'm glad it was on the short side, because it took a very long while for anything to really happen.  I don't think Alex and Emma even kissed until 70% through the book, and while I enjoy a buildup of sexual tension, that just seemed like too long to wait for some action.

I liked both main characters - again, nothing wrong with them, but I would have liked more depth, more about their shared history, more...just more, I guess.  

I liked all the supporting characters, but they, too, were lacking depth.  I suppose I would feel differently about them if I'd read their respective books first, but since I'm starting the series with number four, they didn't make much of an impact on me other than to make me think they'd be a fun group to hang out with.

I did almost shed a tear or two at the end, so all was not lost.  Plus, the writing is decent, not at all a chore to get through.  All in all, this book has me split pretty evenly down the middle, with the good weighing in on one side and the not so fantastic on the other.

Will you like this book?

I think anyone who is a fan of the "Sex, Love, and Stilleto" series will definitely want to read this book.  If you love contemporary romance books, this might be a good choice for you, but I would also suggest starting with the first in the series.  I think maybe with the three previous books there might be some extra character development that was missing here.

Will I read more by this author?

I've already read several other books by this author and I really love her style, so yeah, I will read more by her in the future.  I'm hoping that my failure to connect with Alex and Emma in this book was just a one-off and that I'll have better success with the next go round.

My rating:  2.5 stars

Sunday, April 19, 2015

Review: "Hello From the Gillespies" by Monica McInerney

For the past thirty-three years, Angela Gillespie has sent to friends and family around the world an end-of-the-year letter titled “Hello from the Gillespies.” It’s always been cheery and full of good news. This year, Angela surprises herself—she tells the truth.... The Gillespies are far from the perfect family that Angela has made them out to be. Her husband is coping badly with retirement. Her thirty-two-year-old twins are having career meltdowns. Her third daughter, badly in debt, can’t stop crying. And her ten-year-old son spends more time talking to his imaginary friend than to real ones. Without Angela, the family would fall apart. But when a bump on the head leaves Angela with temporary amnesia, the Gillespies pull together—and pull themselves together—in wonderfully surprising ways....
Thank you to the publisher via Netgalley for the free review copy in exchange for my honest opinion.
Did I like this book?

"Hello From The Gillespies" caught me by complete surprise - I liked it way more than I was expecting to!  I absolutely loved the Australian Outback setting, and the characters were amazingly well written.  The writing was top notch and the plot developed in such a way that I felt like I was part of the action.  The only complaint I have is that once Angela had her accident, things slowed down a bit and seemed to drag in places, making the book feel overly long.

Will you like this book?

I guess I would characterize this book as a mix of chick-lit and literary fiction.  If you're in the mood for something with a fully developed story that doesn't rely on gimmicks, then "Hello From The Gillespies" is a great choice.

Will I read more from this author?

This was my first book by Monica McInerney, and as I really enjoyed it, I will definitely be on the lookout for some of her other titles!  

My rating:

Spotlight and Giveaway! Susanna Kearsley's "A Desperate Fortune"

I am really excited to be a part of this tour for Sourcebooks Casablanca!  I've read several of Susanna Kearsley's books in the past and I think she is a fabulous writer!  I can't wait to read this book!!!

Description:
A Desperate Fortune by Susanna Kearsley
9781492602026 * $16.99/TP * ON-SALE: April 7, 2015

For nearly three hundred years, the cryptic journal of Mary Dundas has lain unread. Now, amateur code breaker Sara Thomas has been sent to Paris to crack the cipher.

Jacobite exile Mary Dundas is filled with longing—for freedom, for adventure, for the family she lost. When fate opens the door, Mary dares to set her foot on a path far more surprising and dangerous than she ever could have dreamed.

As Mary’s gripping tale is revealed, Sara is faced with challenges that will require letting go of everything she thought she knew—about herself, about loyalty, and especially about love. Though divided by centuries, these two women will be united in a quest to discover the limits of trust and the coincidences of fate.

Author Bio:
New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Susanna Kearsley is known for her meticulous research and exotic settings from Russia to Italy to Cornwall, which not only entertain her readers but give her a great reason to travel. Her lush writing has been compared to Mary Stewart, Daphne du Maurier, and Diana Gabaldon. She hit the bestseller lists in the U.S. with The Firebird (a RITA winner) as well as, The Winter Sea and The Rose Garden (both RITA finalists and winners of RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards). Other honors include National Readers' Choice Awards, the prestigious Catherine Cookson Fiction Prize, and finaling for the UK's Romantic Novel of the Year Award. Her popular and critically acclaimed books are available in translation in more than 20 countries and as audiobooks. She lives in Canada, near the shores of Lake Ontario.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Cover Reveal! Noelle August's "Bounce"!!!


Image Map
BOUNCE: A BOOMERANG NOVEL
By Noelle August
Coming to you August 25th, 2015!

William Morrow Trade Paperback; August 25, 2015; $13.99; ISBN: 9780062331106


Following in the bestselling tradition of Molly McAdams and J. Lynn, this final chapter in the fun and steamy New Adult trilogy by Noelle August (authors Veronica Rossi and Lorin Oberweger) features two aspiring musicians who must choose between their careers…and their sizzling attraction for each other.


Playing the occasional club gig just isn’t cutting it for twenty-two-year-old cellist Skyler Canby, who’s trying to support herself and her mother back home in Kentucky. Persuaded by her best friend Beth to accompany her on an audition for the first feature film launched by Blackwood Entertainment, she figures why not? Beth’s a shoe-in for the lead, but maybe Skyler’s newly dyed pink hair will help her stand out enough to score a small speaking part.

Never in her wildest dreams does Skyler imagine she’ll land the lead role or that she’ll have her shoes knocked off her feet by the kiss her audition partner, Grey Blackwood, plants on her—a kiss that feels very real and not at all “acted. ”

After throwing a party that causes thousands of dollars of damage to his older brother’s home, reckless musician Grey Blackwood gets roped into working off his debt on the set of his CEO brother’s newest project. Grey spends his days fetching coffee and doing odd jobs around the studio, but he lives for nights when he performs with his band. He knows if he can stay focused, success as a singer is just around the corner. But that’s tough with a distracting pink-haired girl occupying his every waking thought.

Skyler and Grey have every reason to resist each other. But, like a song neither of them can get out of their minds, they have no choice but to go where the music takes them.

William Morrow Trade Paperback; August 25, 2015; $13.99; ISBN: 9780062331106

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Question: What do you get when friends pen a story with heart, plenty of laughs, and toe-curling kissing scenes? AnswerNoelle August, the pseudonym for renowned editor and award-winning writer Lorin Oberwegerand New York Times bestselling YA author Veronica Rossi, the masterminds behind the Boomerang seriesYou can visit them at NoelleAugust.com@Noelle_August

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Trailer Reveal! Katie McGarry's "Nowhere to Hide"

We are absolutely thrilled to bring you the Trailer Reveal for Katie McGarry's NOWHERE BUT HERE! NOWHERE BUT HERE is a Young Adult Contemporary Romance being published by Harlequin Teen and is a part of Katie McGarry’s Thunder Road Series. It is being released on May 26th, 2015!!

Nowhere But Here - cover

NOWHERE BUT HERE Pre-Order:

Amazon ** Kobo ** B-A-M ** Barnes & Noble ** iBooks ** IndieBound

Add it to your Goodreads Now!

    Nowhere But Here preoder banner

Pre-Order NOWHERE BUT HERE, Register your Pre-Order and you’ll get the eBook you’ve been asking for, Abby’s Story, CHASING IMPOSSIBLE absolutely free! PLUS, you’ll also be entered to win a $500 VISA Gift Card! Register at http://bit.ly/1Mt8cjr.

 

And check out the amazing trailer for

NOWHERE BUT HERE!

 

NOWHERE BUT HERE Synopsis: An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a place you never imagined possible Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she's curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn't mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both. Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They're the good guys. They protect people. They're…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club's most respected member—is in town, he's gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it's his shot at his dream. What he doesn't count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down. No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.   Katie McGarry Author Photo About Katie McGarry: Katie McGarry was a teenager during the age of grunge and boy bands and remembers those years as the best and worst of her life. She is a lover of music, happy endings, reality television, and is a secret University of Kentucky basketball fan. Katie is the author of full length YA novels, PUSHING THE LIMITS, DARE YOU TO, CRASH INTO YOU, TAKE ME ON, BREAKING THE RULES, and NOWHERE BUT HERE and the e-novellas, CROSSING THE LINE and RED AT NIGHT. Her debut YA novel, PUSHING THE LIMITS was a 2012 Goodreads Choice Finalist for YA Fiction, a RT Magazine's 2012 Reviewer's Choice Awards Nominee for Young Adult Contemporary Novel, a double Rita Finalist, and a 2013 YALSA Top Ten Teen Pick. DARE YOU TO was also a Goodreads Choice Finalist for YA Fiction and won RT Magazine’s Reviewer’s Choice Best Book Award for Young Adult Contemporary fiction in 2013.

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Goodreads ** Pinterest ** Tumbler ** Instagram

    InkSlinger Blogger Final

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Review: "The Trouble With Faking" by Rachel Morgan

After a stupid miscommunication, everyone in Andi’s new res thinks she’s secretly dating Damien, boyfriend of resident queen bee Charlotte. Since the rumour’s already out there and refuses to be squashed, Andi and Damien decide to keep up the facade in the hopes of snagging the attention of the people they really want to be with. Brilliant plan, right? Especially since Damien is the guy Andi’s always wanted. But now there’s Mike, the guy Andi’s pretending to be interested in for the sake of the fake relationship plan, and Noah, Damien’s annoying best friend—who is so not Andi’s type—and suddenly the plan isn’t looking so brilliant anymore.
I received this book for free from "Ebooks For Review" in exchange for my honest opinion.
Did I like this book?

A while back, I read "The Trouble With Flirting", my first book by Rachel Morgan, and I was thoroughly impressed, so when I saw the opportunity to read another book from this series, I was happy to jump at the chance.  While I did enjoy "The Trouble With Faking", I'd have to say I didn't love it as much as I did "The Trouble With Flirting".

Andi is a really cool character-she wears what she wants, and her outfits are always customized in some way, usually with handmade bookish jewelry she's made.  Occasionally other people make rude comments about her style, but she holds her head high and ignores it all as much as possible.  I really admired this aspect of her character.  And if that wasn't enough to make a reader love her, she's also started her own etsy shop to sell her crafty creations, she's a book vlogger, and she does coffee shop reviews on her YouTube channel.  A girl after my own heart!

I'm just going to tell you that there is a love triangle of sorts, and although sometimes these will make me shudder, in this case, at least for me, it worked.  It's pretty obvious which way Andi is heading, who she will choose, but the growth she goes through in order to arrive at a decision is what makes the story interesting.

There's also some conflict between Andi and her mother, as well as some problems with new friends.  While I thought the former was well written and realistic, I found the latter a little over dramatic.  One of Andi's new friends gets so upset with her for something I didn't think was a big deal, and instead of talking it out with Andi like a big girl should, this "friend" acts like a complete baby, ignoring Andi and slamming doors.  This conflict pulled me out of the story and annoyed me more than anything - thankfully this aspect of the plot didn't get much page time. 

As for the romance, I have to say it didn't make a huge impact on me, unfortunately.  I was satisfied with Andi's choice, and their connection was strong, but I think I needed a bit more background on him.  The other love interest, same thing - not enough background to really get a feel for why Andi was attracted to him.  However, I'm wondering if Morgan will write a book with him as the MC, because there were definite hints about a hidden story there.

Will you like this book?

Any fans of Rachel Morgan will enjoy this book.  Although this is a standalone, reading the other books in the series first wouldn't be a bad idea.  I especially loved the link at the end of the book to Andi's journal, which included photos (taken by the author) of some of the places mentioned in the novel - I think other readers will love this too!

Will I read more by this author?

Absolutely!  I enjoy Morgan's writing style and love how she brings beautiful places and diverse characters to life!

My rating:




Thursday, April 2, 2015

Review: "The Trouble With Flirting" by Rachel Morgan

Labelled a nerd for most of high school, Livi sees her first year of university as a chance to redefine herself. She can finally enter the popular crowd and maybe even land herself a super hot boyfriend. But Livi’s about to discover that the price of popularity may be more than she’s willing to pay, and that what — and who — she wants most has always been right in front of her.
Thank you to Netgalley and Mark My Words Book Publicity for the ARC!

You know, I think many people can probably relate to Livi's character - I know I certainly can!  Growing up nerdy can be rough, but it's always tougher if you're self-conscious about it.  That's why I love the age my daughter is at right now.  She's ten, and she's a proud nerd!  She's comfortable with who she is and what she likes, and I wouldn't have her any other way!  I just hope she holds onto this confidence throughout adolescence...

Anyway, back to Livi!  She's a nerd, but she's not proud of it.  She's embarrassed of just about everything about herself, including her musical ability, which is a real shame.  Moving to a new city to attend university, Livi is excited to reinvent herself, and honestly, what is wrong with that?  A new hairstyle, new clothes and makeup, and a more outgoing attitude - what could go wrong?  Haha!  So much, indeed!  That scene on the beach?  Yep, been there, done that!  Poor Livi, her antics had me giggling many a time!

But it's not all fun and games.  Morgan doesn't shy away from some of the more serious topics facing the college crowd today.  It was great to see Livi's growth as a character as she stood up for herself on more than one occasion, and how she eventually became more comfortable in her own skin.  

There is a bit of a love triangle, but before all you triangle haters cross this book completely off your list, let me say that in this case, it seems to work.  I won't give away more than that, but yeah, I thought this aspect of the book was quite well done.

Did I mention the setting?  I was surprised and delighted to find that this series is set in South Africa!  How cool is that?  I immediately Googled the University of Cape Town, and ohmigosh it's so beautiful!  And so unique in the world of New Adult.

So, definitely enchanted by this series and excited to get my hands on whatever Rachel Morgan comes out with next.

My rating:


Release Week Blitz, Excerpt and Giveaway: J. Lynn's "Fall With Me"

We are so excited to bring you the Release Week Blitz for Jennifer L. Armentrout's, also known as J. Lynn’s, FALL WITH ME!! FALL WITH ME is a New Adult Contemporary Romance and is a part of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Wait For You Series, published by Avon Romance. We love this series and can't wait to start reading Roxy and Reece's story!

  Fall With me

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble **iBooks ** Kobo

  FWM Teaser 1   FALL WITH ME Synopsis: Eleven months ago, bartender and weird-shirt-wearing extraordinaire Roxy and Officer Reece Anders had a one night stand. Well, kind of. She’s been in love with him since she was fifteen, and he wishes that night they shared never happened. She’s sworn him off forever, but the past and future collide, forcing her to rely on the one man who broke her heart not once, but twice. Her best friend since birth has been in a long-term care facility since he became a victim of a hate crime years ago, and the person who put him in there is out of prison and wanting to make amends with him and Roxy. She’s not sure she has room for forgiveness in her and when she begins to receive frightening messages and is on the receiving end of escalating violence, she thinks she knows who is to blame. The man who already destroyed one life already. But Reece isn’t convinced. The threats are too personal, and even if Roxy doesn’t believe him, he’s not willing to let anyone hurt her. Including himself. He’s already messed up more than once when it comes to Roxy and he’s not going to let history repeat itself.   FWM Teaser 4  
FALL WITH ME Excerpt:

There was a county cruiser parked next to my car and there was a really freaking hot cop propped against the passenger side, long legs crossed at the ankles and arms folded across a yummy chest.
Reece was waiting.
I wasn’t really thinking about my list of priorities as I stared at him in the dimly lit parking lot. The muggy night air settled over me as he unfolded his legs and pushed off the cruiser. My gaze roamed over him. I was really just thinking about how the polyester material of his work pants moved along his thighs.
God, he walked with the kind of lethal grace that should be illegal.
Nick leaned in and whispered in my ear, “And right there is the main reason why I wouldn’t get with you.”
I tripped over my feet.
“Hey man.” Nick clapped Reece on the shoulder as he strolled past him. “Have a good night. See you Wednesday, Roxy.”
“Bye-bye.” I didn’t take my eyes off Reece. What was he doing here, at two thirty in the morning? It wasn’t the first time I’d stepped out of the bar late at night and found Reece waiting. Back before “the night thou shalt not repeat,” he used to do it every once in a while, when he was working the night shift and was taking lunch.
But it was something I hadn’t expected him to do again.
The sound of Nick’s motorcycle rumbling to life echoed throughout the otherwise silent parking lot. I needed to say something, because we were standing there, a few feet between us, staring at one another. “Hi.”
Well, that was spectacular.
One side of his lips kicked up as his gaze dipped. “What . . . ?” He laughed, and there was a flutter deep in my belly, like a nest of butterflies had suddenly taken flight.
“What does your shirt say?”
I glanced down, trying to stop the smile tugging at my lips. “It says ‘Ladies’ Man.’ What’s wrong with that?”
Long, thick lashes lifted and then he laughed again, that nice and light laugh that wrapped around me. “You are . . . you’re something else, Roxy.”
Shifting my weight from one foot to the next, I bit down on my lip. “I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a run-in-the-other-direction kind of thing.”
He took one step closer, his arms loose at his sides—his right arm brushing against the handle of his duty gun. The star on his chest seemed shinier than possible, and was eye level with me. “It’s . . . yeah, it’s a good thing.”

  Author PhotoAbout Jennifer L. Armentrout: # 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.  

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads

 

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Review: "More Than This" by Jay McLean

When Mikayla imagined her prom night, she envisioned a fairy-tale evening full of romance. So when betrayal and tragedy come in quick succession, Mikayla is completely destroyed. Suddenly, everything she loved and everyone she relied on are tragically, irrevocably gone. Jake, a handsome boy she just met, happens to witness her loss. With no one to turn to, Mikayla is forced to depend on this near stranger and his family, and he in turn is determined to take care of her. But Mikayla—thrust into adulthood with no one to guide her—is desperate to contain her grief and hide what she considers to be her weakness. Mikayla and Jake both want more, but despite their growing closeness and intense chemistry, she tries to keep her distance and protect her heart. As he does everything in his power to win her trust, Mikayla must choose between remaining alone and safe or letting love in.
Thanks to Amazon Publishing for the free review copy in exchange for my honest opinion.
Did I like this book?

I'm a bit conflicted as to how I feel about this book.  On the one hand, I read it very quickly and had a hard time putting it down, so obviously I was pulled into the story.  I felt emotionally connected to the characters and wanted them to be together and have their HEA.  But, on the other hand, there were some things that just seemed way over the top, and I couldn't buy into them.  Those things, combined with the constant back and forth between the main characters and the extreme (and immature) jealousy being displayed by them both on numerous occasions really put a damper on my overall enjoyment of this book.

Will you like this book?  

I think most fans of the more mainstream New Adult titles will probably enjoy "More Than This".  It is different enough to stand out from some of the others, but similar enough to appeal to the masses.  The writing reminded me a bit of Jessica Sorensen and J.A. Redmerski, if that gives you a better indication of whether this is a good choice for you.

Will I read more by this author?

I am interested in continuing this series only because I loved some of the supporting characters.  Reading about Jake's group of friends was one of the highlights for me.  I guess it will depend on whether I can purchase the next book through Kobo, because last I checked, they didn't have it.

My rating:

Spotlight Tour! "Feeding the Fire" by Andrea Laurence

Book Information

Title: Feeding the Fire
Author: Andrea Laurence
Release Date: March 16, 2015
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Summary

Pepper has no interest in Grant Chamberlain…until she accidentally wins him at a school auction and finds the mega-hot firefighter impossible to ignore. Find out what happens next in the second playful and sexy ebook romance in the Rosewood series!

Living in the small town of Rosewood, Alabama, hairdresser Pepper Anthony has one rule—never date a Chamberlain. She’s always said, “the only thing worse than being ignored by a Chamberlain is being dumped by one.” But Grant Chamberlain, town fireman, isn’t used to rejection, and Pepper has consistently turned him down since high school. She isn’t intimidated by his family; she’s one of the few who refuses to take their crap.

When Grant volunteers at the charity bachelor auction, to his surprise, Pepper buys him. She hadn’t meant to, but Adelia Chamberlain dropped a cold drink in her lap, sending her leaping into the air at precisely the wrong moment. Suddenly she had a massive bill to the town and Grant at her disposal. Since the money has to come from her “restore the house” fund, she decides to use Grant for manual labor instead of romantic dinners. Grant is happy to help, sweaty and shirtless, because one way or another, he’s going to get Pepper to admit she’s attracted to him. All it takes is a small spark, and soon they’ll be fanning the flames.

Excerpt

Grant stepped out from behind the curtain to a roar of applause. The minute the lights hit him, Pepper felt her heart skip a beat in her chest like she’d been hit with paddles of a defibrillator. He was wearing a black, slim-fit suit with a black shirt and tie. Even though he was indoors and it was nighttime, he was wearing his trademark Ray-Ban sunglasses. The glasses always seemed to accent the square line of his jaw and the sharp angle of his nose.
His full lips curled into his charming smile, with the slightest hint of a dimple visible on his cheek. It reminded her of him looking at her, just like that, from between her trembling thighs.
Damn him for being so sexy. His confidence made him that much more attractive. And frustrating. And irritating. Her fingers itched to reach for her paddle, but she resisted. She wasn’t going to pay for his time, even when he smiled at her that way.
“The lucky lady with the winning bid will go with Grant to a romantic dinner at Brio’s in Birmingham and if she likes, he’ll take her on an exhilarating ride down a windy country road on the back of his motorcycle.”
Pepper could almost see all the wild fantasies rushing through the heads of every woman in the room. It was a nice thought—hair blowing in the wind, thighs clamped around Grant’s narrow hips, arms wrapped around his waist. Even she could imagine the hard feel of his abs beneath the thin cotton of his T-shirt and the vibration of the engine against her most sensitive parts. There was a rumble of approval as they readied their paddles and sized up their competition.
Good luck to them, Pepper thought.
Like a beach ball bouncing around the room, the bids flew fast and furious. Before long, they’d topped three thousand.
Suddenly Pepper felt awkward. Even though she and Grant weren’t dating, she didn’t exactly want to sit around and watch other women battle for him. Looking around the room, she spied Adelia Chamberlain coming back to her table with a glass of ice water. Maybe another drink would help. Or perhaps it was the right time for a restroom break. She could beat all the other women that would rush the ladies’ room when the auction ended.
Pepper slipped her purse onto her shoulder and picked up her paddle so she could dump it in the bathroom trash can. “I’m going to get some air,” she whispered to Ivy, then started to get up.
The ambush was sudden and unexpected. When they first came in Pepper had noticed the cable that the A/V people had taped to the floor, but the room was much darker now. Adelia didn’t see it and caught the toe of her shoe on it. She didn’t fall, thank goodness, but she did stumble, slinging her full glass of ice water into Pepper’s lap.
With a cry of surprise and alarm, Pepper leapt out of her chair, holding her arms high to avoid the water that practically covered her from neck to knees.
“Four thousand!” Allison Price announced from the stage.
The MC’s words were an even larger shock to Pepper than the water. She turned her head toward Grant and the action onstage. He was looking straight at her with a wide smile of confidence across his face. He winked at her, and Pepper felt her stomach sink into her boot. Allison was pointing in Pepper’s direction, trying to coax a higher bid out of the audience.
Yes, please, she screamed in her head. Make it forty-five hundred. Hell, make it four thousand and one penny. Just outbid her. She was answered with deafening silence. The only one in the room making a sound was Allison up on stage. It seemed that suddenly, all the battling women seemed to give up. Even Grant wasn’t worth that much, it seemed, and she agreed.
“No!” Pepper shouted, but there was no stopping it.
“Going once . . . going twice . . .”
“I didn’t mean to—”
“Sold! To the lady in the blue sweaterdress, paddle twenty-two!”
Pepper looked down at her dark blue sweater, suddenly made even darker by the spreading water mark. Her damned paddle, the one she never wanted to begin with, was still in her hand. She watched as it slipped from her fingers, clattering to the ground in slow motion as the gravity of the situation caught up with her. Four thousand dollars. She’d just bid four thousand dollars. Because of well-aimed ice water.
“Oh, Pepper,” Miss Adelia fussed, dabbing her with an inadequate cocktail napkin and shaking off the well-meaning hands of the folks that were more concerned about the older woman nearly falling. “I am so sorry. I didn’t even see that silly cord,” she said. “Is your dress okay?”
She couldn’t respond. All Pepper could do was close her eyes and try to keep the tears of frustration and aggravation from rushing down her cheeks.
She had just paid four thousand dollars for a date with Grant Chamberlain.

Buy Links

Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/1MDRNsN



Author Biography

Andrea Laurence has been a lover of reading and writing stories since she learned to read at a young age. She always dreamed of seeing her work in print and is thrilled to finally be able to share her special blend of sensuality and dry, sarcastic humor with the world. A dedicated West Coast girl transplanted into the Deep South, she's working on her own "happily ever after" with her boyfriend and their collection of animals including a Siberian Husky that sheds like nobody's business.

Social Networking Links


a Rafflecopter giveaway