Thursday, November 16, 2017

Review: "To Love and to Cherish" by Lauren Layne

Sex and the City meets The Wedding Planner in The Wedding Belles, a contemporary and witty romance series about three high-powered New York City women who can plan any wedding—but their own. Alexis Morgan has spent the past six years devoted to turning her tiny start-up into Manhattan’s premiere wedding planning company, The Wedding Belles. Now that her business is thriving, it’s time to turn towards her much neglected personal life, and Alexis approaches her relationships like she does everything else: with a plan. Not a part of that plan is Logan Harris, the silent partner in the Belles, and the one person who’s been there for her since the very beginning. But Alexis needs someone fun, and Logan’s all business, all the time—except when a late night at the office ends with an unexpected kiss that leaves the usually cool and together Alexis reeling. Logan has lusted after Alexis since the day he walked into the tiny Harlem apartment that used to double as her office. But the ambitious wedding planner has always been untouchable...until now. Alexis has made it clear that she’s on the dating market—and equally clear that he’s not in the running. But when Alexis finds herself in need of a date for her sister’s last minute wedding in Florida, Logan knows it’s the perfect time to show Alexis that there’s more to him than numbers and spreadsheets—and beneath the pinstripes and glasses lies a hot-blooded heartthrob. As Florida’s sultry days turn into even hotter nights, Logan’s out to convince Alexis that the fling of a lifetime could just maybe turn into forever...
Thanks to Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books via Netgalley for the free review copy in exchange for my honest opinion.
After reading and enjoying several Lauren Layne books, including the second book in the Wedding Belles series, "For Better or Worse", I was pretty excited to get my hands on "To Love and to Cherish". Unfortunately, this final book in the trio did not quite live up to my expectations. 

Here's the thing: Alexis and Logan just didn't do it for me. Alexis was boring, and Logan wasn't really much better. Friends-to-lovers romances can be sooooo good when they're done right, but aside from a teeny bit of palpable sexual tension in the prologue, I just wasn't feeling the connection between these two. Even their eight year friendship felt stilted! The took way too long to build up any steam in this couple, and I ended up being slightly bored. I could understand why Alexis was hesitant to start anything with Logan, given her history, but come on! Eight years is insane!  And Logan was a sucker for hanging around that long without giving her any indication that he was interested in more than friendship. In the end, I didn't really care if they got together or not, and that is the worst! When I'm reading a romance, I want to feel like I could be friends with the characters and that my life will never be the same if they don't get their happily ever after.  If I don't feel these things, then the book will be less than successful for me.

I'm still giving this book three stars, though, because the writing was good and I enjoyed seeing more from the other couples in this series. I will definitely still read more from Lauren Layne in the future, too, because I usually enjoy her writing style, characters, and plot development. It's just too bad that "To Love and to Cherish" didn't hit all the right notes for me.

My rating: 3 stars

Sunday, October 22, 2017

Sale Blitz! "Roar" by Cora Carmack!!!

   

From New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack comes her debut young adult fantasy, ROAR, now available in eBook for $2.99 today only! ROAR takes readers on an adventure filled with charismatic characters in an enthralling world sure to keep them turning the pages. Grab your copy today!

 

About ROAR (Stormheart #1):

New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack's young adult debut: Roar.

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora's been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage. She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.

Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.

   

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo | Book Depository


Add to your Goodreads

   

   
About Cora Carmack: Cora Carmack is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. Since she was a teenager, her favorite genre to read has been fantasy, and now she’s thrilled to bring her usual compelling characters and swoon-worthy romance into worlds of magic and intrigue with her debut YA fantasy, Roar. Her previous adult romance titles include the Losing It, Rusk University, and Muse series. Her books have been translated into more than a dozen languages around the world. Cora splits her time between Austin, TX and New York City, and on any given day you might find her typing away at her computer, flying to various cities around the world, or just watching Netflix with her kitty Katniss. But she can always be found on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and her website www.coracarmack.com.      

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads

     

Saturday, September 30, 2017

Blog Tour & Review: "Reveal Me" by Jennifer Probst


Hey, everyone, today I'm really excited to be a part of the "Reveal Me" blog tour! Read on for some more information on this novella and the rest of this scorching series by Jennifer Probst!


BOOK INFORMATION: 

REVEAL ME by Jennifer Probst is LIVE! You can read it for FREE on KindleUnlimited. 

Grab it on Amazon: http://bit.ly/RevealMeAMZ

A Special Crossover Release with Laura Kaye’s Theirs to Take.
A New Book in Blasphemy Series:
Two Hot Fantasies. One Night at Blasphemy.

Blurb: 


What’s your secret desire for one perfect night?
Welcome to the mysterious FANTA-C agency where everything, and anything goes…

REVEAL ME:

One Masquerade Ball.
One Chance to Reveal Secret Desires. 
One Fiery Encounter.
One Shot at Love.
Are you ready to reveal all?

A Man Who Knows What He Wants…
Leonardo Sinclair never expects to fall for the fierce yet vulnerable woman he meets at his friend’s masquerade party, or for her to disappear without a trace. When his cousins sign him up with the mysterious FANTA-C agency and he finds her back in his bed, this time Leo’s not about to let her go. But can he convince her she’s safe to reveal every hidden part of her soul before he loses her again?

A Woman Ready to Explore her Desires…
Scarlett Rose has never been tempted to explore her wilder side, but after years of being humiliated and emotionally abused by her ex, she’s finally ready to embrace her true self.  Safely hidden behind a mask, she attends a ball held in the famous Blasphemy club and meets a man who not only embraces, but demands her complete surrender. Once the mask is stripped away, will she be brave enough to trust him? Or will fear of reliving the past keep her from a whole new future?

CATCH ME (Steele Brothers series, #1)

PLAY ME (Steele Brothers series, #2) 

DARE ME (Steele Brothers series, #3) 

BEG ME (Steele Brothers series, #4) 


-------------
AUTHOR INFORMATION: 

BIO:
Jennifer Probst wrote her first book at twelve years old. She bound it in a folder, read it to her classmates, and hasn’t stopped writing since. She took a short hiatus to get married, get pregnant, buy a house, get pregnant again, pursue a master’s in English Literature, and rescue two shelter dogs. Now she is writing again.

She makes her home in Upstate New York with the whole crew. Her sons keep her active, stressed, joyous, and sad her house will never be truly clean.
She is the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of sexy and erotic contemporary romance. She was thrilled her book, The Marriage Bargain, was ranked #6 on Amazon's Best Books for 2012. She loves hearing from readers. Visit her website for updates on new releases and her street team at www.jenniferprobst.com.


Thanks to the author, publisher, and InkslingerPR for my copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
Wow, this novella was smokin' hot! Hopefully you know going in that "Reveal Me" is a notch or two higher on the steam-o-meter compared to Jennifer Probst's usual brand of contemporary romance, otherwise, you could be in for a bit of a shock! 

If you enjoy your erotica with a focus on BDSM, you will most likely enjoy this book. Even if BDSM is not really your thing - and I must confess, it's not really mine - you still might enjoy this book. Compared to some others in this genre, I found the writing to be superior and the connection between the two main characters believable.  And to be honest, that is exactly what I hoped for when I requested to be a part of this blog tour. After quite a few misses in the BDSM department, I was not eager to try another, but since this was Probst, I thought maybe I could make an exception. I'm glad I did, because "Reveal Me" is probably the first BDSM book to actually work for me. 

Leo and Scarlett have an obvious connection from their first meeting at the masquerade. I enjoyed how Leo probed into the details of Scarlett's past relationship in order to get to know her on a deeper level. They both believe that they will be together for one night only, but it is also difficult for either of them to forget the connection they formed in such a short time. This is where the Fanta-C agency  comes in, although the details surrounding this are rather vague. It would have been nice to have a bit more explanation regarding this mysterious matchmaking agency, although perhaps if I'd read the novellas in order rather than reading the fifth one first, I might have more of an idea of how Fanta-C operates and fits into the setting. Then again, perhaps the author withheld  these details deliberately - it's hard to have a "mysterious" agency if there's no mystery, right?

In short, if you're a fan of Jennifer Probst's writing and are willing to heat things up significantly with your fall reads, then "Reveal Me" is for you. I can't wait to check out the rest of the novellas in this series!

My rating: 4 stars



Tuesday, September 26, 2017

"Reveal Me" by Jennifer Probst: Release Day Launch!!!

 

Today we are celebrating the release of Reveal Me by Jennifer Probst. The book is part of her Steele Brothers series! This series also includes the titles Catch Me, Play Me, Dare Me, and Beg Me and each of them are available to read for FREE on KindleUnlimited. Below are links for each of the titles.

 

REVEAL ME (Steele Brothers, #5)

GET IT ON AMAZON

 
What’s your secret desire for one perfect night?
Welcome to the mysterious FANTA-C agency where everything, and anything goes…
REVEAL ME: One Masquerade Ball. One Chance to Reveal Secret Desires. One Fiery Encounter. One Shot at Love. Are you ready to reveal all? A Man Who Knows What He Wants… Leonardo Sinclair never expects to fall for the fierce yet vulnerable woman he meets at his friend’s masquerade party, or for her to disappear without a trace. When his cousins sign him up with the mysterious FANTA-C agency and he finds her back in his bed, this time Leo’s not about to let her go. But can he convince her she’s safe to reveal every hidden part of her soul before he loses her again? A Woman Ready to Explore her Desires… Scarlett Rose has never been tempted to explore her wilder side, but after years of being humiliated and emotionally abused by her ex, she’s finally ready to embrace her true self. Safely hidden behind a mask, she attends a ball held in the famous Blasphemy club and meets a man who not only embraces, but demands her complete surrender. Once the mask is stripped away, will she be brave enough to trust him? Or will fear of reliving the past keep her from a whole new future? A Special Crossover Release with Laura Kaye’s Theirs to Take. A New Book in Blasphemy Series: Two Hot Fantasies. One Night at Blasphemy. Coming September 26, 2017  

THE PREVIOUS BOOKS IN THE SERIES

Catch Me (Steele Brothers, #1)

Purchase on Amazon

CATCH ME Synopsis:

Rick Steele has avoided relationships since he caught his fiancée cheating, but when his friend refers him to the exclusive agency, FANTA-C to experience the night of his dreams, he's not prepared for his emotional and physical reaction to his date. Tara shows him a raw passion and honesty he’s never encountered. For the first time, Rick wants more than one night, but he needs to catch her first...

Tara Denton escaped a brutal past and needs one night with a stranger to get beyond her sexual and emotional limitations. On the brink of recovering her strength and independence, she wants nothing to do with a relationship. But Rick Steele does more than rock her body…he rocks her heart. Tara has to make a choice, but is she ready to get caught?

Play Me (Steele Brothers, #2)

Purchase on Amazon

PLAY ME Synopsis:

Professional gambler Sloane Keller is tired of dating weak willed men and longs to meet a man who challenges her dominant personality and forces her to submit. As the Queen of Cards, she’s used to making her own rules and craves the excitement of Vegas. But her inner heart cries out for someone who can be her match, both inside the casino and in the bedroom.

As the new dealer in town, Roman Steele is burnt out on women looking for a quick penny and a man to follow. He craves a woman with fire in her soul and a keen intellect who can challenge him. When his brother recommends the exclusive agency, FANTA-C to give him one perfect night, Rome is amazed at the complicated woman who challenges both his body and soul. But when the evening is over, will she be gutsy enough to offer him forever?

Dare Me (Steele Brothers, #3)

Purchase on Amazon

DARE ME Synopsis:

As a military leader back from the war, and the youngest of his two dominant older brothers, Rafe Steele struggles with a secret. He craves surrender in the bedroom under the controlled hands of a Dominatrix. When his brothers offer him an experience through the exclusive agency, FANTA-C, he jumps at the chance to experience one perfect night. After one experiment, he’s sure he’ll be able to move on. But he never counted on Summer Preston to strip down his walls and make him want more so much more...

An elementary school teacher with a girl next door, fresh face, Summer is constantly barraged by men who want to take care of her, but she longs to meet a strong man who can handle her dominant ways in the bedroom. Trapped in her own storybook life, she books a one-night stand to finally experience her fantasy. But she never counted on Rafe Steele to push her boundaries in both the bedroom...and her heart.

 

Beg Me (Steele Brothers, #4)

Purchase on Amazon

BEG ME Synopsis:

Remington Steele comes to Vegas to be with his brothers and try to get over the one woman he's never been able to forget. As childhood sweethearts, she hadn't been able to handle his Dominant tendencies, choosing to run away without a good-bye. But when he's suddenly face to face with Cara Winters, all grown up and finally ready to be his, Remington needs to make his own choice. To leave the past behind forever, or forgive and be with the woman he's always loved?

Cara wasn't ready to be the type of woman Remington needed in his life, so she disappeared and broke his heart. But she's changed, and is ready to embrace the woman she always craved to be. She begs him to take her for one night, and Remington finally agrees. Will they get a second chance at love, or are the scars from their past too deep to heal?

   

AUTHOR INFORMATION:

Jennifer Probst 
Jennifer Probst - Bio: Jennifer Probst wrote her first book at twelve years old. She bound it in a folder, read it to her classmates, and hasn’t stopped writing since. She took a short hiatus to get married, get pregnant, buy a house, get pregnant again, pursue a master’s in English Literature, and rescue two shelter dogs. Now she is writing again. She makes her home in Upstate New York with the whole crew. Her sons keep her active, stressed, joyous, and sad her house will never be truly clean. She is the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of sexy and erotic contemporary romance. She was thrilled her book, The Marriage Bargain, was ranked #6 on Amazon's Best Books for 2012. She loves hearing from readers. Visit her website for updates on new releases and her street team at www.jenniferprobst.com.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter

InkSlinger PR Blogger Banner - New

Monday, September 25, 2017

Release Day: Review and Giveaway for "Playing with Forever" by Amy Andrews

Today is the release day blitz for PLAYING WITH FOREVER by Amy Andrews! Check it out and grab your copy today!

Title: PLAYING WITH FOREVER 
Author: Amy Andrews 
Genre: Contemporary Romance 
Release Day: September 25th


About Playing with Forever

Country boy, Ryder Davis has the world at his feet. A stellar rugby career, a winning way with women and a beach view that keeps him in blue sky and bikini babes. He's living the dream. The last thing he needs is a Great Dane called Tiny destroying his feng shui. Dog whisperer, Juliet Morgan is about to start living her dream and she's counting down the days. In two months she'll finally be moving to Italy and no man's going to stop her this time. Not even a rugby superstar with a badly behaved pooch. But when Ryder skids into the animal shelter looking for help Juliet agrees to assist him with his canine issues. Pretty soon they're assisting each other out of their clothes and tumbling headlong into a sex thing with an expiry date. Neither of them expected it to become more. But when for now starts to feel like forever Juliet hits the panic button. Ryder knows he has to play the long game and let her walk away. After all it's not over until the final hooter sounds and all's fair in love and rugby. Each book in the Sydney Smoke Rugby series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order.

Series Order: 
 Book #1 Playing By Her Rules 
 Book #2 Playing It Cool 
 Book #3 Playing the Player 
 Book #4 Playing With Forever

Buy Now

Amazon | Nook | Kobo | iBooks | Google Play

Add to Goodreads

Giveaway

 

About the Author

Amy Andrews is a multi-published, award- winning author of 50+ romance novels across both traditional and digital platforms. She writes for Harlequin Mills and Boon, Entangled, Harper Collins Australia, Momentum Publishing, Escape Publishing and Tule. She's sold in excess of a million books worldwide and has been translated into over a dozen languages. In her spare time she is a PICU nurse and mother of two teenagers. She lives on acerage on the outskirts of Brisbane, Australia but secretly wishes it was the hillsides of Tuscany.

 

This is the third book of Amy Andrews' that I've read, and I've gotta say, I keep coming back to these Sydney Smoke guys because there's just something about them! They're all smokin' hot (pun totally intended!) athletes, they're Australian (got a soft spot set aside for those Aussies!) and while they might not always know what they want or need in the romance department, once they figure it out, they are gonna go for it without hesitation or games.

Ryder Davis is hands down my favourite Sydney Smoke rugby player after reading this book.  He was lovely, to be honest. Absolutely nothing I didn't love about him! He's a bona fide cowboy, and he wears it well, despite living in the city. He's gorgeous, he loves animals, and he knows how to treat a woman. But when he spills the beans to Juliet about the karaoke bar? Gush! I don't want to give anything away, but how could anyone resist a guy like that?

I could empathize with Juliet, getting stuck in a situation that didn't end up the best and going on a bit of a rampage. I actually enjoyed that aspect of her personality, it seemed to really mesh well with Ryder's carefree attitude. I liked how the two of them didn't really mess around and got right to the nitty gritty in the first few chapters. The fast pace made for a quick read that didn't lose my interest at all.     

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book to anyone looking for a quick, steamy read set in the most beautiful city in the world with possibly the hottest ensemble cast in the world. You could start with any of the four books of the series, but "Playing with Forever" gets my vote as the best of the bunch (although I must go back and read #1 to say that with absolute certainty.)

Thanks so much to the author, publisher, and InkSlinger PR for the free copy of this book for the purposes of my honest review. 


Tuesday, September 19, 2017

"Wicked Dirty" by J. Kenner - Release Launch!!!

   

Sometimes bad isn’t good enough…

On the outside, Lyle Tarpin is a clean-cut Hollywood actor whose star is on the rise. Inside, he’s battling his own demons, shunning relationships and finding solace in the arms of a string of anonymous women paid very well for their discretion.

But when he’s photographed in a compromising position by an over-eager reporter, the only way to save his career is to say that the woman he was with is his fiancée. And now Lyle has to play a very public game with the only woman who’s ever managed to get under his skin.

Struggling waitress Sugar Laine agrees to spend one night with Lyle—but only because she’s desperate to save her family home. She never expects that a night of passion will turn into a pretend engagement … or that the heat between them will blossom into love.

But sometimes love has a price.

And now the only question is—can Lyle and Sugar afford to pay it?

ADD TO GOODREADS

BUY NOW

Amazon | Amazon UK | iBooks | iBooks UK | Kobo UK | Kobo | B&N | Google Play

    My blood pounds through my body, my heart beating so hard that I can feel the pressure not only against my ribs, but against the wall behind me. My lips are parted, my breath coming in shaky gasps. He’s only inches away, so close I could reach out and touch that famous, gorgeous face. His eyes, as deep and blue as the summer sky, roam over me. He eases closer, moving slowly, his face reflecting a hunger that sends shivers through me. Once again, my mind conjures the image of a hungry wolf. Only now I’m thinking that maybe getting eaten wouldn’t be so bad after all. Besides, I’m here. Might as well enjoy it. Then, of course, I remember exactly what it is. Oh, God. His fingertip brushes my forehead, and I almost jump out of my skin. I meet his eyes, see something that looks like irritation, and want to kick myself. I need to focus, dammit. “You were somewhere else.” He speaks flatly, as if he’s working to keep all emotion out. I shake my head, conjuring a lie. “I’m right here.” And then, because I’ve seen movies with call girls, I put my hand flat on his chest, trying to seem seductive. He’s wearing a gray T-shirt, and I can feel his heart beating beneath the planes of his muscled chest. I read somewhere that he was getting in shape to play a superhero in an upcoming movie. And kudos to whoever’s orchestrating that transformation, because this guy is rock solid. He’s still looking at me, and I fist my hand in the material of his shirt, needing an anchor against the storm of emotion I see playing out on his face. Desire. Hunger. Longing. Regret. And pain. I see so much damn pain that I have to fight the urge to cup my palm against his cheek and tell him that whatever it is, it’s going to be okay. Instead, I simply whisper, “Lyle?” I’m not sure if it was the wrong thing or the right thing to say, but I know that it was unexpected. And before I can apologize or cover or say anything else at all, he is on me. One hand at my throat, the other hard on my breast. I’m pinned against the wall, helpless, as he claims my mouth again. Wildly. Brutally. I try to think what I’m supposed to do—try to respond. But I’m trapped. I’m not Sugar. I’m not Laine. I’m not anyone. This isn’t about sex. It’s about pain and need and that storm of horrors I saw on his face. I might as well not even be here. And as his hand squeezes tight on my breast—as his mouth clashes so hard against mine that he draws blood—my only thought is that I shouldn’t have come at all. That this was stupid. Foolish. And that this night is going to leave me scarred. I squeeze my eyes shut, trying to be what he wants. A warm body. An anonymous female. But I can’t do it. I can’t do it at all. All I can be is me. A woman desperate enough to have sex for money. A girl trying anything and everything to save her house. To protect her family’s memory. I can be that girl. But I can’t be nothing. I can’t be no one. And as his hand tightens in my hair—as he kisses me violently—as his body presses hard against mine and I feel the steel of his erection—I know that I’ve made a terrible, horrible, awful mistake. Stop!        
Julie - J Kenner Author Photo
J.Kenner (aka Julie Kenner) is the New York Times, USA Today, Publishers Weekly, Wall Street Journal and #1 International bestselling author of over seventy novels, novellas and short stories in a variety of genres.
Though known primarily for her award-winning and international bestselling erotic romances (including the Stark and Most Wanted series) that have reached as high as #2 on the New York Times bestseller list, JK has been writing full time for over a decade in a variety of genres including paranormal and contemporary romance, “chicklit” suspense, urban fantasy, and paranormal mommy lit.
JK has been praised by Publishers Weekly as an author with a “flair for dialogue and eccentric characterizations” and by RT Bookclub for having “cornered the market on sinfully attractive, dominant antiheroes and the women who swoon for them.” A five time finalist for Romance Writers of America’s prestigious RITA award, JK took home the first RITA trophy awarded in the category of erotic romance in 2014 for her novel, Claim Me (book 2 of her Stark Trilogy). Her Demon Hunting Soccer Mom series (as Julie Kenner) is currently in development with AwesomenessTV/Awestruck.
Her books have sold over three million copies and are published in over twenty languages.
In her previous career as an attorney, JK worked as a clerk on the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, and practiced primarily civil, entertainment and First Amendment litigation in Los Angeles and Irvine, California, as well as in Austin, Texas. She currently lives in Central Texas, with her husband, two daughters, and two rather spastic cats.
   

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Release Day Launch, Excerpt and Giveaway! Kristen Ashley's "The Time in Between"

   

"She was the one then and nothing changed in the time in between."

 

✮✮✮A story of past decisions gone awry, secrets that change directions, and emotional second chances, this gripping love story is what happens when two paths again collide. The final standalone title in New York Times bestselling author Kristen Ashley’s Magdalene Series, THE TIME IN BETWEEN is a rich, heartfelt love story available now!✮✮✮


Explore THE TIME IN BETWEEN and grab your copy today!

 

About THE TIME IN BETWEEN (Magdalene Series #3):

After a painful loss, Cady Moreland is coming to Magdalene to start the next chapter of her life. A chapter that began eighteen years ago but had a heartbreaking ending. The time in between was full of family and friendship, but Cady could never get the man she fell in love with all those years ago out of her heart.

Coert Yeager has learned to live without the girl who entered his life right when she shouldn’t and exited delivering a crippling blow he never would have suspected. The time in between was full of failing to find what he was missing…and life-altering betrayal.

But when that girl shows up in Magdalene and buys the town’s beloved lighthouse, even if Coert wants to avoid her, he can’t. A fire in town sparks a different kind of flame that won’t be ignored.

As Cady and Coert question the actions of the two young adults they once were thrown into earth-shattering circumstances, can they learn from what came in between and find each other again?


Grab your copy of THE TIME IN BETWEEN today!

 

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks | GooglePlay


Add to your Goodreads

 

5% of the proceeds from the first week of sales of THE TIME IN BETWEEN release will be given to HALO Animal Rescue in Phoenix, a no-kill shelter. HALO stands for “helping animals live on” and is a shelter started by a mother/daughter team of committed animal advocates who have done a huge duty for animals in this area, and continue to do so with unwavering love, support and energy.For more information on HALO or to donate to the work they do, go to www.halorescue.org.

     

And don’t miss the first titles in the Magdalene Series!

THE WILL 

 SOARING

EXCERPT: 

Present day…
I took in the mess of the large, circular room we were in and at first saw nothing but the mess—decaying furniture, a soot-covered stone fireplace, a kitchen that might have been put in in the forties but had not only not been touched the last nine years, it perhaps had not been touched the last nineteen (or more).
Then I saw more.
The extraordinarily carved railing to the sweeping wood staircase that ran the curved side of the house. The red brick walls. The plank wood floors.
“Once upon a time, long ago,” the realtor was suddenly talking wistfully, “someone loved this place. Put that love into building it. Put that love into keeping it. Nine years and more when no one really gave a whit, and still you can see it once had a lot of love.”
Oh yes.
You could see that.
“It’s got a basement, more like a big crawl space,” the agent declared, surprising me with his quick change in tone back to businesslike and informative. “The furnace is down there. You can get down there through a door in the floor. The furnace was put in a while back, and full disclosure, though an inspection will catch it, it probably needs to be replaced.”
Through his words I stared at the fireplace, which scoured would be magnificent, and I noticed it didn’t have a chimney as such, but the smoke probably went out a vent in the wall.
“This floor has a powder room under the stairs,” the realtor kept on. “You can look at it if you want, but if you wanna save yourself that, I’ll just tell you straight, it needs to be gutted.”
I decided to take his word for it and told him that.
He looked relieved when I did before he stated, “Place has a garage, two car. Not in good condition, but think you saw that. Still, it’s close to the house and there’s a covered walkway to that door over there.” He pointed at a door that was across from the door we’d walked in. “Means you might feel a chill but you won’t get wet, unless it’s raining sideways, which happens.”
With a breeze that plastered my jacket to me on a sunny, early spring day, I did not doubt that.
“Garage has a loft space above it, which could be renovated as a studio rental if you’ve a mind to do that sort of thing. As for the property itself, it also has a building where the generators are stowed,” the realtor carried on. “Hook up for a washer and dryer and good space in there. Lots of it for storage. Which is good because there’s not a lot of storage in here for tools and Christmas decorations and whatnot.”
I glanced around seeing he was right. There wasn’t even enough cabinetry to house the things a decent cook would need in her kitchen. Though there was room for them. In fact, if you fought back the gloom, there was quite a bit of room.
“And there’s a place outside, could call it a studio, could call it a mother-in-law house,” he shared. “Whatever, it’s got goodly space, two bedrooms, big kitchen. Could be renovated to be a guest house. Or like I said, a studio if you’re artsy. Or you could rent it out like a B and B. I’ll show you all of that after we have a look at the lighthouse.”
“Thanks,” I replied.
“Now, since I mentioned full disclosure, you have to know it all,” the realtor continued.
Slowly, my eyes went to him.
When they did, he launched in. “Like I said, it’s automated. And like I said, you won’t really have to concern yourself with the functionality of that unless the electricity goes out, but then the generators automatically kick in. There are two. But you’ll need to keep fuel on hand to keep them going in case a blackout lasts awhile. And just to say, this is coastal Maine. We get weather. Blackouts can last awhile.”
When I nodded to share I took that in, he kept going.
“And if you’re, say, away on vacation, you need to make sure someone is playing backup in such a case.”
“Okay,” I replied when he stopped talking, thinking this probably wasn’t a good thing since I knew no one in Maine (or not anyone who wanted to know me) and thus couldn’t call on anyone to do something like that.
I also didn’t hold high hopes I’d make friends and win people. I hadn’t had a lot of success in that in my life.
And last, although Patrick believed it completely, I held no hope that the reason I was out there was going to come to fruition.
That being me having a happy ending.
That being what Patrick thought would be my happy ending.
Which might mean I’d have someone, a certain someone, or actually two (at least), even though I knew I never would.

     

   
   
About Kristen Ashley: Kristen Ashley was born in Gary, Indiana, USA and nearly killed her mother and herself making it into the world, seeing as she had the umbilical cord wrapped around her neck (already attempting to accessorize and she hadn't taken her first breath!). Her mother said they took Kristen away, put her Mom back in her room, her mother looked out the window, and Gary was on fire (Dr. King had been assassinated four days before). Kristen's Mom remembered thinking it was the end of the world. Quite the dramatic beginning. Nothing's changed. Kristen grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana and has lived in Denver, Colorado and the West Country of England. Thus, she's blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her family was (is) loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write. They all lived together on a very small farm in a small farm town in the heartland. She grew up with Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon and Whitesnake (and the wardrobes that matched). Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music, clothes and love was a good way to grow up. And as she keeps growing, it keeps getting better.