Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Surprise Announcement from J. Kenner!

 

     
 
The first time I met her I wanted to slap her. The second time, I knew I had to have her. As for the third time, a gentleman doesn’t tell. So I guess it’s a good thing I’m no gentleman … right?   Let’s get this out of the way, right off the bat: I love women. I love the way they look. The way they smell. The way they feel. Especially the way they feel. And I’ve pretty much made it my mission to give each and every woman who shares my bed the ride of her life. Then I met her. Bitchy as hell and completely uninterested in me. And damned if I didn’t want her. Crave her. I told myself I only wanted to tame her. That it was all about the challenge. I never expected to break through that ice queen exterior and find the softness underneath. Never expected how wild she’d be between the sheets or the way she’d cry my name with such sincere intensity when I totally rocked her world. Most of all, I never expected to fall for her. But I did. And the question is, now that I know I want her, how the hell do I go about keeping her?   TO BE NOTIFIED WHEN BITCH SLAP IS AVAILABLE            
Julie - J Kenner Author Photo
J.Kenner (aka Julie Kenner) is the New York Times, USA Today, Publishers Weekly, Wall Street Journal and #1 International bestselling author of over seventy novels, novellas and short stories in a variety of genres.
Though known primarily for her award-winning and international bestselling erotic romances (including the Stark and Most Wanted series) that have reached as high as #2 on the New York Times bestseller list, JK has been writing full time for over a decade in a variety of genres including paranormal and contemporary romance, “chicklit” suspense, urban fantasy, and paranormal mommy lit.
JK has been praised by Publishers Weekly as an author with a “flair for dialogue and eccentric characterizations” and by RT Bookclub for having “cornered the market on sinfully attractive, dominant antiheroes and the women who swoon for them.” A five time finalist for Romance Writers of America’s prestigious RITA award, JK took home the first RITA trophy awarded in the category of erotic romance in 2014 for her novel, Claim Me (book 2 of her Stark Trilogy). Her Demon Hunting Soccer Mom series (as Julie Kenner) is currently in development with AwesomenessTV/Awestruck.
Her books have sold over three million copies and are published in over twenty languages.
In her previous career as an attorney, JK worked as a clerk on the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, and practiced primarily civil, entertainment and First Amendment litigation in Los Angeles and Irvine, California, as well as in Austin, Texas. She currently lives in Central Texas, with her husband, two daughters, and two rather spastic cats.
   

Friday, May 19, 2017

Cora Carmack's "Roar" Excerpt Reveal!!!

   

From New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack comes her debut young adult fantasy, ROAR! Releasing June 13, 2017, ROAR takes readers on an adventure filled with charismatic characters in an enthralling world sure to keep them turning the pages. Don’t miss the amazing excerpt below!

   
About ROAR (Stormheart #1):
New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack's young adult debut: Roar.
In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.
Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora's been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.
To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.
Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage. She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.
Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo | Book Depository

Add to your Goodreads

   
EXCERPT:

There was a hole in her chest, an awful, gaping hole that screamed like she wanted to. Like a cyclone, it seemed to suck up everything in its path until her knees were curled into her chest and her body hunched, and she just kept collapsing in and in and in. Suddenly unable to breathe, she clawed at the beaded fastenings that connected her headdress and necklace. One of her fingernails bent and splintered as she scrabbled for the hooks; when she could not find them, she took hold of the beaded cord and pulled until it broke, beads scattering across the stone floor around her.

The headdress tipped sideways, tugging painfully on her hair. Again and again, she pulled at the ties until her palms felt raw and beads littered the floor around her. The headdress began to sag, and she was nearly done, nearly free when someone stepped through the archway, and she froze.

Novaya.

Thank the skies. The dark-haired servant held an urn full of steaming water in her hands, and she stared in horror as if she had stumbled upon a monster rather than a crying girl. Nova had been Rora’s closest friend before she cut herself off from everyone at her mother’s command. Girls with secrets the size of Rora’s could not have friends. Nova took a step forward, paused, then knelt down, her large brown eyes carefully blank.

“Should I call for your guards? The queen?” Nova asked.

“No!” Softer, Aurora said, “No. Please don’t tell anyone.”

Once upon a time, Nova had kept all her secrets. Now the two rarely even looked at each other in the eye when their paths crossed, and it was all Aurora’s fault.

“Your Highness? What happened?”

Rora shook her head and returned to tugging at the headdress still tangled in her hair. She couldn’t say the words aloud, couldn’t let anyone see how much of a fool she was. Aurora had become accustomed to her shortcomings as a Stormling, as an heir. But she’d thought she had her mother’s strength, tenacity, and intelligence. But maybe that was wishful thinking. Maybe she was altogether…inadequate.

“Stop, Princess. You’re hurting yourself.” Nova put the water aside, crawled forward, and grabbed Rora’s wrists. “Aurora, stop.”

All the years spent missing their friendship came rushing back, and she froze at the sound of her name. Not Princess. Not Your Highness. Aurora. But the moment she stopped moving, it all came crashing down on her. Her naïve plan to kiss him, to experience something real. She should have known that her future would hold only more lies. As if she knew anything about real life, real anything. She lived in this palace, protected and pampered and put away like a doll on a shelf, too fragile for anything but appearances. And it seemed that’s all she would ever be.

Cassius wanted control of the city for himself. He thought he’d have to fool her to do it, but the moment the world found out that Rora had no magic, he’d become the ruler in truth, and she’d be the puppet at his side. He wouldn’t have to feign interest in her then. He wouldn’t need her at all.

She wound her arms about her legs and rested her forehead on her knees. Nova moved closer, and Rora sat still and silent as the girl worked to remove the headdress. Her old friend had grown into a beautiful young woman—flawless bronze skin, shiny black hair, stunning features. She’d recently begun assisting the royal seamstress in addition to her position as a maid. She probably had more friends than she could count. Aurora could not help imagining how different her life would be now fi she had never become heir.

The headdress finally gave way, and Nova slipped it off and laid it on the stone floor beside them.

“Tell me what happened.”

Rora leaned back against the wall. It was cool against her abused scalp, and she muttered, “Nothing happened.”

At least she had that much. She hadn’t kissed that beast. But what she had done felt worse. She had hoped. And hope broke more hearts than any man ever could.

“Should I get someone? A friend?”

Rora let out a bleak, cold laugh. As if she had any of those. Softer, she said, “I don’t want to see anyone. I just need this dress off. The makeup too. I need to breathe, and I can’t do it through all this mess.”

“I can do that. I came to help remove the headdress and gown. Stand up and we’ll go to your room. Everything will be fine, Your Highness.”

She didn’t tell her old friend how wrong she was, not as she peeled the dress off her and unlaced the corset. Not as she wiped away the powder that was smudged and striped on Rora’s face, thanks to falling tears. Another maid came in with more steaming water for a bath and Rora let them clean her up, wishing it was as easy to wipe away the last few hours.

She sat in the bath until the water grew cold and her skin shriveled like dying fruit. She had to face the facts. The Rage season was coming, as was this sham of a wedding. And she didn’t know how to fight it any more than she knew how to stop a storm.

But she would not give Cassius any more opportunities to see her vulnerable. Nor was she giving up. If there were no other way, she would marry Cassius.

But she had six days. Wars had been won, empires toppled, and cities leveled in less time. If there was a way out of this, Rora would find it.



About Cora Carmack: Cora Carmack is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. Since she was a teenager, her favorite genre to read has been fantasy, and now she’s thrilled to bring her usual compelling characters and swoon-worthy romance into worlds of magic and intrigue with her debut YA fantasy, Roar. Her previous adult romance titles include the Losing It, Rusk University, and Muse series. Her books have been translated into more than a dozen languages around the world. Cora splits her time between Austin, TX and New York City, and on any given day you might find her typing away at her computer, flying to various cities around the world, or just watching Netflix with her kitty Katniss. But she can always be found on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and her website www.coracarmack.com.    

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads

 

Cover Reveal: Kristen Proby's"The Beauty of Us"

 

From New York Times bestselling author Kristen Proby comes a sexy, new standalone contemporary romance in her Fusion Series, THE BEAUTY OF US! Releasing August 22, 2017, don’t miss the amazing cover and blurb below!

   

New York Times bestselling author Kristen Proby delivers another sizzling novel in her delectable and sexy Fusion series.

Riley Gibson is over the moon at the prospect of having her restaurant, Seduction, on the Best Bites TV network. This could be the big break she’s been waiting for. But the idea of having an in-house show on a regular basis is a whole other matter. Their lives would be turned upside down, and convincing Mia, her best friend and head chef of Seduction, that having cameras in her kitchen every day is a good idea is daunting. Still, Riley knows it’s an opportunity she can’t afford to pass on. And when she meets Trevor Cooper, the show’s executive producer, she’s stunned by their intense chemistry.

Trevor’s sole intention is to persuade Riley to allow Best Bites TV to do a show on her restaurant. But when he walks into Riley’s office, he stops dead in his tracks. The professional, aloof woman on the phone is incredibly beautiful and funny. But can he convince her that he’s interested in Riley for himself? Or is he using the undeniable pull between them to persuade her to agree to his offer?

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2qveLzY

Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/2rhlTkh

iBooks: http://apple.co/2pVzLNa

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2rtiIlK

Add to your Goodreads

 

And Don’t Miss the First Three Novels in the Fusion Series, LISTEN TO ME, CLOSE TO YOU, and BLUSH FOR ME!

 
New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author Kristen Proby is the author of the bestselling With Me In Seattle and Love Under the Big Sky series. She has a passion for a good love story and strong, humorous characters with a strong sense of loyalty and family. Her men are the alpha type; fiercely protective and a bit bossy, and her ladies are fun, strong, and not afraid to stand up for themselves. Kristen lives in Montana, where she enjoys coffee, chocolate and sunshine. And naps.    

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Review plus Giveaway! "Girl Out of Water" by Laura Silverman



Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.

Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.

Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it's hard to put her past behind her when she's living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.
Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.

Girl out of Water by Laura Silverman
Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2017
ISBN: 9781492646860
Formats: Paperback, ebook


About the Author: LAURA SILVERMAN earned her MFA in Writing for Children at the New School, and lives in Atlanta, Georgia. Girl out of Water is her first novel. You can follow her on Twitter at @LJSilverman1.

Connect with Laura: Website | Twitter | Instagram
Many thanks to Sourcebooks Fire via Netgalley for the free review copy in exchange for my honest opinion!
I thought this was a wonderful debut novel from Laura Silverman! The descriptions of the settings and people seemed to pop right off the page, that's how real it all seemed to me. Here are a few other things I loved:
  • Anise's relationship with her father. What an awesome guy! Honestly, I would read a book with his story. I kinda wanted him to get together with Anise's aunt, because how perfect would that be for Anise? But this wasn't really his story, so I guess I can't be too disappointed with that lack of development. Still, I loved how Anise's dad always treated her with respect and gave her the freedom to make her own mistakes but wasn't afraid to lay down the law when Anise was acting irresponsibly or selfishly.

  • Lincoln. He made me laugh quite frequently with his humour and charm. I loved that he had a physical disability, but that he didn't let it stop him from doing anything he wanted to do. I loved how kind and friendly he was to Anise and her cousins. And I loved how he broadened Anise's horizons, showing her things and doing things with her that she would never have seen or done on her own. He almost makes me want to travel to Nebraska!

  • Anise. Although she did frustrate me, a lot at times, she was still a pretty cool chick! I would love to have her lifestyle, living on the beach and surfing and hanging out with cool friends. Except for the whole mom/abandonment issue, she's got it pretty good. And I loved how even though she was stuck in Nebraska for the summer, once she got over the whole downer of it, she embraced skateboarding as a challenge and gave it her all, practicing and falling and getting back up until she started to really appreciate it. Her determination in that regard was admirable.
There were a lot of great things to love about this book, but overall I felt it was a bit long and at times I was annoyed by Anise's internal dialogue and lack of communication with not only her friends in Santa Cruz but all the other people in her life. I also wanted more closure at the end - so many questions! But still, a wonderful summer read for those who enjoy coming-of-age stories.

My rating: 3.5 stars


Giveaway Details

3 finished copies of Girl out of Water, US and Canada entries only

a Rafflecopter giveaway


"Somehow, Some Way" by Jennifer Probst: Teaser Reveal!

 

Today we are showing off some teasers from SOMEHOW, SOME WAY by Jennifer Probst. This is a 1001 Dark Nights novella in the Billionaire Builders series. The book will be released on May 30th and it is currently up for pre-order on amazon.

 

PRE-ORDER IT NOW

AMAZON

--------------------------

SOMEHOW, SOME WAY by Jennifer Probst

Billionaire Builders, #2.5 - Coming May 30, 2017

BLURB:

Bolivar Randy Heart (aka Brady) knows exactly what he wants next in life: the perfect wife. Raised in a strict traditional family household, he seeks a woman who is sweet, conservative, and eager to settle down. With his well-known protective and dominant streak, he needs a woman to offer him balance in a world where he relishes control. Too bad the newly hired, gorgeous, rehab addict is blasting through all his preconceptions and wrecking his ideals…one nail at a time…

Charlotte Grayson knows who she is and refuses to apologize. Growing up poor made her appreciate the simple things in life, and her new job at Pierce Brothers Construction is perfect to help her carve out a career in renovating houses. When an opportunity to transform a dilapidated house in a dangerous neighborhood pops up, she goes in full throttle. Unfortunately, she’s forced to work with the firm’s sexy architect who’s driving her crazy with his archaic views on women. Too bad he’s beginning to tempt her to take a chance on more than just work…one stroke at a time…

Somehow, some way, they need to work together to renovate a house without killing each other…or surrendering to the white-hot chemistry knocking at the front door.

 

PRE-ORDER IT NOW

AMAZON

ENTER THE PRE-ORDER GIVEAWAY!

CLICK HERE to enter to win one of these incredible prize packs!

 
 

PURCHASE THE OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES

Everywhere and Every Way

PURCHASE EVERYWHERE AND EVERY WAY (Billionaire Builders, #1) NOW

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | GooglePlay

PURCHASE ANY TIME, ANY PLACE (Billionaire Builders, #2) NOW

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | GooglePlay

PRE-ORDER ALL OR NOTHING AT ALL (Billionaire Builders, #3) NOW

Coming July 25th

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | GooglePlay

----------------------

AUTHOR INFORMATION:

Jennifer Probst

Jennifer Probst - Bio: Jennifer Probst wrote her first book at twelve years old. She bound it in a folder, read it to her classmates, and hasn’t stopped writing since. She took a short hiatus to get married, get pregnant, buy a house, get pregnant again, pursue a master’s in English Literature, and rescue two shelter dogs. Now she is writing again.

She makes her home in Upstate New York with the whole crew. Her sons keep her active, stressed, joyous, and sad her house will never be truly clean. She is the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of sexy and erotic contemporary romance. She was thrilled her book, The Marriage Bargain, was ranked #6 on Amazon's Best Books for 2012. She loves hearing from readers. Visit her website for updates on new releases and her street team at www.jenniferprobst.com.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter

InkSlinger PR Blogger Banner - New

Friday, May 5, 2017

"Trust" by Kylie Scott - Cover Reveal!

We are so excited to share the cover for Kylie's Scott's first ever YA and Indie published book TRUST releasing JULY 18th!


Cover by Hang Le

Being young is all about the experiences: the first time you skip school, the first time you fall in love…the first time someone holds a gun to your head.

After being held hostage during a robbery at the local convenience store, seventeen year old Edie finds her attitude about life shattered. Unwilling to put up with the snobbery and bullying at her private school, she enrolls at the local public high school, crossing paths with John. The boy who risked his life to save hers.

While Edie’s beginning to run wild, however, John’s just starting to settle down. After years of partying and dealing drugs with his older brother, he’s going straight—getting to class on time, and thinking about the future.

An unlikely bond grows between the two as John keeps Edie out of trouble and helps her broaden her horizons. But when he helps her out with another first—losing her virginity—their friendship gets complicated.

Meanwhile, Edie and John are pulled back into the dangerous world they narrowly escaped. They were lucky to survive the first time, but this time they have more to lose—each other.

PRE-ORDER

iBooks - Sign-up for alert when the book goes live

 

    kyliescottimage
Kylie is a New York Times and USA Today best-selling author. She was voted Australian Romance Writer of the year, 2013 & 2014, by the Australian Romance Writer’s Association and her books have been translated into eleven different languages. She is a long time fan of romance, rock music, and B-grade horror films. Based in Queensland, Australia with her two children and husband, she reads, writes and never dithers around on the internet. You can learn more about Kylie from http://www.kylie-scott.com/  

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Release Day Blitz! "It Happened on Love Street" by Lia Riley

Hey everyone, I am so excited to be a part of this blog tour and release day blitz for Lia Riley's "It Happened on Love Street"! This was such a cute book, so read on for my review, an excerpt, and a great giveaway!

ABOUT THE BOOK

Title: IT HAPPENED ON LOVE STREET
Author: Lia Riley
Series: Everland, Georgia
On Sale: April 25, 2017
Publisher: Forever
Mass Market: $7.99 USD
eBook: $5.99 USD



In the tradition of New York Times bestselling authors Kristan Higgins, Jill Shalvis, and Marina Adair, comes the first in a new series by Lia Riley about two city sisters finding love in a small town.



The most romantic place she never wanted to be . . .



Pepper Knight moved to Everland, Georgia, as step one in her plan for a successful legal career. But after this big-city gal's plans go awry, going home with her tail between her legs isn't an option. So when the town vet—

and her sexy new neighbor—offers Pepper a temporary dog-walking job, she jumps at the chance. No one needs to know that man's best friend is her worst nightmare . . . or that Everland's hot animal whisperer leaves her panting.



The last thing Rhett Valentine wants is to be the center of small-town gossip. After his first love left him at the altar, he's been there, done that. These days, life is simple, just the way he likes it. But sultry southern nights get complicated once sparks fly between him and the knockout next door. When she proposes a sexy, secret fling—all the deliciousness and none of the prying neighbors-it seems too good to be true. And it is. Because Pepper's determined to leave Love Street, and when she goes, she just might take his heart with her . . .



BUY THE BOOK HERE


THE EVERLAND, GEORGIA SERIES


IT HAPPENED ON LOVE STREET, #1
THE CORNER OF FOREVER AND ALWAYS, #2

Excerpt:

“Here’s an idea.” He nudged his finger on hers. “Say we—and this is purely hypothetically—enjoyed the . . . ahem . . .pleasure of each other’s company in the privacy of our homes.”
“Hypothetically, kept it casual and under the radar?”
She nudged back. “When I leave, there’s no heartbreak, no drama, and no one is the wiser.”
“Interesting theory?” He reached out, his hand splaying her knee. “Or recipe for disaster?”
Tingles shot up her thigh. His skin was warm, those fingers very big and very male. “I have enough to worry about with my future. If you don’t need me for more than a little here and now? I might be persuaded. Hypothetically.”
He moved his hand from her knee to the back of her neck. The touch melted her faster than an ice cube in the July sun.
“What are you thinking?” she murmured.
His deep blue gaze locked on hers and there it came again, that curious sensation of floating and drowning. “That I’d like to hypothetically kiss you.”
There was a sudden roaring in her ears, a whoosh of blood. “Well, there’s only one way to test a hypothesis.”
Slowly, oh so slowly, he dipped forward. His lips didn’t settle on hers like she expected. Instead, he kissed the center of her forehead, softly, experimentally. A tremble rocked through him.
The evening air was sultry, no a hint of chill. The idea that she shook this steadfast man sent a shiver of need through the join of her thighs, a throbbing shudder that swelled to an ache as he peppered a light trail of kisses down her temple, and then moved lower. He took his sweet time on her cheeks, treating her as something to savor, a delicious dessert you didn’t want to wolf in one bite. Tension spread through her body, pulling tighter and tighter, her belly doing a fluttery dips and dives.
When he finally reached her lips, it seemed reasonable to expect that the kiss would be as soft as the others. Silly. Because Rhett was full of surprises. He didn’t hold back, his tongue was greedy, insistent, and hungry. Their teeth banged together. A chair tipped over. They crashed against a table leg, sent it screeching across the floor.
“In theory, you’re a good kisser,” she gasped, tracing her lower lip with her tongue. The skin was puffy, aching.
“Let me experiment a bit more. The initial results are promising.”



 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR



Lia Riley is a contemporary romance author. USA Today describes her as "refreshing" and RT Book Reviews calls her books "sizzling and heartfelt." She loves her husband, three kids, wandering redwood forests and a perfect pour over coffee. She is 25% sarcastic, 54% optimistic, and 122% bad at math (good thing she writes happy endings for a living). She and her family live mostly in Northern California.




FOLLOW FOREVER ONLINE


My gosh, Lia Riley never disappoints!  I have been a huge fan since I read her first book, "Upside Down", three years ago, and I've enjoyed every one of her titles I've read since.  While "It Happened on Love Street" was certainly more lighthearted than Riley's "Off the Map" series, I loved the change of pace and small town feel here.

Pepper Knight was a fun character. She's a bit introverted, highly driven to succeed, smart, sassy, and feisty. She's also petrified of dogs, due to a traumatic incident when she was a child. Unfortunately, I can also relate to this trauma as my daughter was bitten in the face by our family dog a couple of years ago. It was awful, and although my daughter does not seem to have any lingering fear of dogs, she still bears the scars on her cheek. Pepper, too, has scars on her face, but the internal wounds are what she needs to overcome if she wants to make ends meet in her new town of Everland, Georgia, as the only job she could find once her clerkship position was rescinded was that of dog walker.  Poor Pepper, I really felt for her, things weren't going even remotely as she'd envisioned! But at the same time, Rhett Valentine was there to ease the pain, so I couldn't feel too sorry for her.

If you are tired of reading romance novels where the hero is a clichéd brooding bad boy, then Rhett Valentine is definitely your man. He doesn't sleep around, he's always respectful and chivalrous - even to the old biddies who drive him bonkers poking their noses into his personal business! - and he has strong relationships with his best friend, his sister, and even his ex. In a word, he's amazing! Even though he's extremely attracted to Pepper, he feels the need to be cautious, considering how he'd been burned in the past. Eventually, he and Pepper enter into a friends-with-benefits type of secret relationship, which is super sweet and steamy, and I loved everything about it! This arrangement works out great for both of them, until of course, it doesn't.

So what else is there to love about this book? Well, Everland itself sounds pretty fabulous. There are some interesting characters making appearances throughout, most notably Mayor Beau and Tuesday (born on a Friday). There's a villain, a treasure hunt, and a mystery, plus a new twist on an old classic board game. And then there's the time that Pepper lost her favourite hat...

I do wish that some of the townspeople and events surrounding them had a bit more depth and description.  For instance, there was one character introduced in the beginning of the book, and he didn't appear again until the end, where he was able to fulfill a pretty significant role in solving the mystery. I would have liked to know more about him, or for his character to at least be mentioned a couple of times throughout the book. Otherwise, his role in the story feels a tad forced, know what I mean? The mystery itself was cute, but I didn't really feel any urgency to see the resolution. Same with the treasure hunt - it was a neat idea, but too easily solved, and didn't add a whole lot of significance to the story. I also felt like Pepper was able to overcome her fear of dogs quite easily, and I wanted more detail on how she did this. Plus, she only ever made mention of walking the Chihuahua, Wolfgang, and maybe one other dog. I'm not asking that Pepper's every moment of every day be explained in detail, but for a person with a major phobia suddenly forced to spend a good chunk of time each day with the object of that phobia? I need a bit more to buy into the whole deal.

Those minor complaints aside, I thoroughly enjoyed my time hanging out on Love Street with Pepper, Rhett, and all their kooky sidekicks. You can bet I'll be picking up "The Corner of Forever and Always" as soon as I'm able!

Many thanks to Forever Publishing for the Advance Reading Copy in exchange for my honest review.

My rating: